Burning PC smell??!! EEK!

This topic is locked from further discussion.

Vuud

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1 Vuud
Member since 2003 • 1336 Posts
Hopefully someone here might be able to offer some advice. My PC was running fine but suddenly one day I noticed a smokey smell coming from my tower. So far I can't tell where it's coming from, the power source, CPU, or even a fan with worn out bearings or something. I also noticed that my PC's temperatures are reaching 140 degrees F. Everything in the tower looks the same as it did a year ago when I put it together except the smell. Any ideas?
Avatar image for MercenaryKnight
MercenaryKnight

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#2 MercenaryKnight
Member since 2003 • 396 Posts
I would say, try finding a program such as everest to test your heat sources. It might be able to show that your mobo is going too hot or your cpu or your video card. Maybe the case fans aren't working? I am a noob so try not to take my advice too seriously.
Rusteater

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 5

#3 Rusteater
Member since 2004 • 4080 Posts
I'd open it, then power it up and see if the cpu fan is spinning.
Vuud

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#4 Vuud
Yeah I did that, all 3 are functioning. One on the CPU heatsink, one on the back of the case, and the one on the video card. I should probably also mention that I'm not overclocking or anything like that.
MercenaryKnight

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#5 MercenaryKnight
Maybe the thermal grease for the heatsink sort of disappeared or something? I have no idea and am quite a noob but just throwing out an idea.
ForlornHope

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 1

#6 ForlornHope
Member since 2006 • 1809 Posts