Why is my computer so slow at running games?

This topic is locked from further discussion.

#1 Posted by Red_Clarity (7 posts) -
Alright, so I try to play Minecraft or Arma 2 but there is a huge delay and very slow frame rate. Even with the graphics on the lowest and fastest settings I can barely control where I am going. Can someone please let me know what I would need to improve in my computer to at least run these games smoothly at the lowest settings? I'm fairly new to all this. I'm not sure what information you'll need but here are some of my system specs: CPU - Intel Pentium G620 2.60GHz Motherboard - H61MXL Intel HD Graphic 1000 4GB RAM 1TB HDD Thanks in advance :]
#2 Posted by 04dcarraher (19665 posts) -
Its your onboard video causing the slowness. You need to pick up a graphics card. And that will depend on your power supply and budget.
#3 Posted by soolkiki (1769 posts) -

That looks like a laptop's specs.

#4 Posted by 04dcarraher (19665 posts) -

soolkiki
It dont look like it Since he has a G620 cpu and a foxconn H61MXL motherboard
#5 Posted by kraken2109 (13070 posts) -

You don't have a graphics card.

#6 Posted by soolkiki (1769 posts) -

[QUOTE="soolkiki"]

04dcarraher

It dont look like it Since he has a G620 cpu and a foxconn H61MXL motherboard

Haha you're right. I should have googled it before I said anything. I just wasn't familiar with the model numbers. But yes, he is defninitely missing a graphics card. 

#7 Posted by Plagueless (2569 posts) -
Your computer has a fairly weak CPU and integrated GPU, (no dedicated graphics card) and it was never intended to play 3D games.
#8 Posted by Blistrax (1071 posts) -

Here are the specs for Minecraft. link

What power supply do you have?

#9 Posted by Red_Clarity (7 posts) -