This topic is locked from further discussion.

GTA_MGS_1

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 3

User Lists: 0

#1  Edited By GTA_MGS_1
Member since 2008 • 524 Posts

Hey peeps gojng for a 512GB MX100 SSD, what are they like for gaming? i'm a bit of a noob with these.. i wont be installing that many games compared to some but will be playingg my new rig like crazy, are these reliable enough for gaming? before you mention HDD's, i'm going all out on this build! :)

Avatar image for deactivated-6127ced9bcba0
deactivated-6127ced9bcba0

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 1

#2 deactivated-6127ced9bcba0
Member since 2006 • 31700 Posts

Everything tends to run better on an SSD. With my SSD I load into multiplayer games long before everybody else and Windows boots up faster. Win/win in my book(no pun intended).

FelipeInside

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

#3  Edited By FelipeInside
Member since 2003 • 28548 Posts

@GTA_MGS_1

@airshocker said:

Everything tends to run better on an SSD. With my SSD I load into multiplayer games long before everybody else and Windows boots up faster. Win/win in my book(no pun intended).

Win/Win but with a bit of a lose cause SSDs are still expensive (going down rapidly), and to get FULL performance out of it you need at least 50% of free space (something HDDs didn't need as much).

TC, I would go with at least a 256GB (if your budget allows it, go for 512GB). And even then, just install the HEAVY games on the SSD. Lighter games that aren't as intensive just put them on a normal HDD.

Endgame_basic

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#4  Edited By Endgame_basic
Member since 2002 • 950 Posts

The MX100 is by far the best price/performance SSD you can buy right now. I'll be picking up a 512GB version fairly soon to go with my Evo 250Gb.