Highest possible temperature for a GPU. Need info.

This topic is locked from further discussion.

funkyzoom

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1 funkyzoom
Member since 2005 • 1534 Posts

I newly installed a Radeon HD 6950 GPU. I have a feeling its running a bit hot. hence I adjusted the fan speed so that it increases 1% for every 1c increase in temperature. The temperature hovers between 40c and 50c when idle. I just tested one game after installing the GPU, that is Sleeping Dogs with everything maxed out. When I started playing the game, the temperature gradually increased, then became stable around 80c (means it didn't increase anymore after that), and due to my fan settings, the fan runs at 80% speed during this time. So I just wanted to know, are my temperatues normal, or is my GPU overheating? Also, what temperature of the GPU is a cause for alarm uncer full load? I checked out various forums, and people say different things. Some say a GPU is surely safe till it reaches around 90c, whereas others say the GPU gets damaged if it goes anywhere beyond 80c, and 70c is ideal for full load. Please help me. Thank you.

Avatar image for deactivated-5cf4b2c19c4ab
deactivated-5cf4b2c19c4ab

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 2

#2 deactivated-5cf4b2c19c4ab
Member since 2008 • 17476 Posts

Your temps are perfectly fine. GPUs only start getting in the danger zone around 100c or above, and they will throttle themselves before they overheat. Generally you want to keep it under 90c just to be safe.

04dcarraher

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#3 04dcarraher
Member since 2004 • 23829 Posts