Need motorcycle advice

This topic is locked from further discussion.

Avatar image for GalvatronType_R
GalvatronType_R

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 2

User Lists: 0

#1 GalvatronType_R
Member since 2003 • 3106 Posts
-I'm about to buy my first sportbike (a used Suzuki GSX-R 600 with aftermarket exhaust and some other aftermarket pieces) -I don't know how to ride but I'm going to learn; several people tell me not to get a 600 cc bike as a beginner but I'll feather the throttle and be extremely careful (I'm a very cautious driver) -What should I look for when I'm inspecting the bike beyond the usual brake pads, chain, etc.?
WhiteKnight77

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

#2 WhiteKnight77
Member since 2003 • 12605 Posts

Check the frame and make sure that there are no kinks in it. Check the welds to ensure no cracks. Cracks in the paint are a tell tale sign that something could be wrong underneath it.

Avatar image for GalvatronType_R
GalvatronType_R

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#3 GalvatronType_R
Member since 2003 • 3106 Posts

Check the frame and make sure that there are no kinks in it. Check the welds to ensure no cracks. Cracks in the paint are a tell tale sign that something could be wrong underneath it.

WhiteKnight77

Thanks for the tip.  I'll also check the tires and lift up the seat to check the battery but if anyone else has more suggestions, I welcome them.

themajormayor

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#4 themajormayor
Member since 2011 • 25729 Posts
Make sure to wear a helmet when you drive.
mightlife

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#6 mightlife
Member since 2013 • 25 Posts