MirkoS77

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 3

User Lists: 0

#1 MirkoS77
Member since 2011 • 17663 Posts

What kind of motorcycle? How long? I’m thinking of buying my first bike. My dream is a Ducati Monster, but for a first bike....eh. I don’t want to buy a banger though.

Are bikes really that difficult to learn on? I’ve been driving manuals for twenty eight years. Any advice? Also seems that bikers are their own clique. I’m not very social, am I expected to group up with other riders?

DEVILinIRON

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 4

#2  Edited By DEVILinIRON
Member since 2006 • 8778 Posts

@MirkoS77: I used to. I had a beginner bike. Yamaha 650cc cruiser. It was a blast, even though I couldn't pass 80mph.

You need to be aware at all times, obviously. Don't assume that people see you. They will cut you off. It took me a little while to get used to riding. But that's why the state I lived in had regulations stating that I had to take a riding class. You aren't expected to ride with others. I'm not very social either. The most I would do is let go of the left handle bar and extend my left arm out low and to the side when passing (it's a kind of wave). There are cliques, but it's cool to be a lone wolf, don'tya'think? Be safe.

kriggy

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#3  Edited By kriggy
Member since 2008 • 1314 Posts

Motorcycling is awesome! the Ducati Monster 797 actually seem like a pretty good first bike! 73hp, small and light 🙂

However, such a nice bike might make you care a little too much about the bike (it all depends on what kind of person you are of course). You should expect making a few dents on your first bike.

I would recommend that you take a couple of classes with a traffic school where you can ride their bikes, those bikes have been dropped and over-revved many times so you don't have to care about material damage and just focus on learning the basics!

Good luck to you!

mrbojangles25

Forum Posts

Wiki Points