No appreciation for classics?!

This topic is locked from further discussion.

Disturbed_King

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1 Disturbed_King
Member since 2007 • 554 Posts

I don't know if I'm simply overreacting, or is it just me, or am I seeing lately on a lot of threads and a few YouTube videos that have a "top games of all time" or whatever in them and about 95% of the comments/replies to the videos and/or forum threads have all modern games on their list. But that's not all. What's also weird that I noticed is that the lists with all modern games in them tend to get the most in-depth conversations and/or intense arguments, while the lists with classics included (which are the accurate ones in my opinion), get completely ignored.

I mean seriously, what's wrong with today's generation of gaming? While I'm only 15 (and turning 16 in several days), I started playing games when I was 3 or 4 and I remember the first game I played being either Super Mario World or Mario Kart for the SNES. And eventually I got an N64, and I enjoyed that a LOT. But it seems now of days that a vast majority of today's gamers seem to believe that games started out on PS2 (and that's also the system they all started on as well, and most of the "modern gamers" started gaming only several years ago). But anyways, if you're curious to see my top 10 games of all time list, here it is (it has accuracy in it, I never judge by if it's modern or old, I judge by what I think is the best of all games):

1) Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time
2) Doom
3) Metroid Prime
4) Super Mario World
5) Super Mario Bros. 3
6) Oblivion
7) Castlevania: Symphony of the Night
8 ) Donkey Kong Country
9) Half Life 2
10) Banjo Kazooie