Please use a html5 video capable browser to watch videos.
This video has an invalid file format.
Sorry, but you can't access this content!
Please enter your date of birth to view this video

By clicking 'enter', you agree to GameSpot's
Terms of Use and Privacy Policy

Destiny 2: The Witch Queen - What You Need To Know

Destiny 2’s latest expansion The Witch Queen has been officially revealed with a lot of new content for fans to experience. From a new antagonist and campaign, to a brand new raid, we dive into all the big things you need to know about the latest expansion.

Bungie has been on a tear lately with Destiny’s story telling. The developer has expanded its past seasonal stories in a cohesive and evolving manner and fans were eagerly anticipating the reveal for Destiny’s next large expansion, The Witch Queen. The reveal is here--and it’s juicy. Bungie officially dropped tons of info about the new expansion and its story premise, finally giving us a look into the brand new antagonist, Savathun.

Savathun will be our largest threat yet, and is able to grant the gift of the Light to her brood. That’s right, weak Hive knights, wizards, and other Hive enemies are now essentially Guardians who can wield the Light’s power against us, which is really saying something. The campaign and new story will have us traveling to Savathun’s throne world, where we will challenge her Lucent Brood and attempt to get to the heart of it all and pierce through her lies and facades.

There’s a ton of new content coming to The Witch Queen, which we detail in the video, such as the brand new raid that will take place in a sunken Pyramid ship. We also delve into weapon crafting, a first for the game, and break down the Glaive, a first-of-its-kind melee weapon. Additionally, there are new seasonal activities, and more content to look forward to when the new expansion finally drops.

Destiny 2: The Witch Queen is slated for release in February 2022, and will be available on Xbox One, Xbox Series S|X, PS4, PS5, PC, and Google Stadia. There will be a standard edition with just the expansion, and a deluxe edition that includes a season pass with plenty of end game content like brand new dungeons and raids in future seasons. Hardcore fans can up the ante with the physical collectors edition, which costs a good chunk of change but comes with really cool limited edition goodies like a Hive Ghost. Be sure to subscribe to GameSpot for more Destiny content!