Please use a html5 video capable browser to watch videos.
This video has an invalid file format.
00:00:00
Sorry, but you can't access this content!
Please enter your date of birth to view this video

By clicking 'enter', you agree to GameSpot's
Terms of Use and Privacy Policy

Review

Divinity: Original Sin 2 Review - Switch Definitive Edition Update

  • First Released Dec 31, 2016
    released
  • Reviewed Sep 5, 2018
  • PC
  • PS4
  • NS

Sinful delights.

GameSpot may get a commission from retail offers.

Editor's note: The Nintendo Switch version of Divinity: Original Sin II Definitive Edition seems as if it shouldn't work on the hybrid console, and yet it does wonderfully. Larian's acclaimed RPG makes the transition to Switch intact (except for couch co-op, though online and local wireless play are available) with very little in the way of compromises. The control scheme, as with that of the PS4 and Xbox One versions, works well here despite the lack of a traditional mouse-and-keyboard setup. The turn-based nature of combat lends itself to short bursts of gameplay in handheld mode, though it's a difficult game to put down once you get started.

Visually, there is a noticeable downgrade in both the docked and handheld modes. The lower resolution results in the game looking blurry in certain spots, but not to a problematic degree. And that trade-off is acceptable because performance is rock solid--and, remarkably, the Switch's relatively small screen is capable of handling everything you need to see without feeling cramped. Even the on-screen text, which can be difficult to read in other games when playing in handheld mode, is no issue.

Steam cross-save support works seamlessly and easily, letting you carry saves from Switch to PC (but only the Definitive Edition) and vice versa. And the addition of a select number of minor but welcome official mods let you further customize what was already a very open-ended adventure. With the ability to play on the go in handheld mode, Divinity: Original Sin II is easy to recommend and instantly joins the ranks of the best games on Switch. -- Chris Pereira, September 6, 2019

No Caption Provided
Gallery image 1Gallery image 2Gallery image 3Gallery image 4Gallery image 5Gallery image 6Gallery image 7Gallery image 8Gallery image 9Gallery image 10

Editor's note: We originally reviewed Divinity: Original Sin II in September 2017, when it received a 10/10. This review has been amended to reflect our experience with the Definitive Edition on PS4, which is (unsurprisingly) also a 10. You can find our impressions of the new content, console controls, and more at the bottom of the existing review. -- 9/5/18

About midway through Divinity: Original Sin II's campaign when it was first released on PC, I was called on to visit the family farm of a heroic colleague named Gareth. On arrival, I found him mourning his murdered parents and calling on me to help him take revenge. Pretty standard RPG stuff.

But when I went to the farmhouse in search of the killers, I was greeted by paladins who prevented me from going inside. I tried to change their minds during dialogue with the in-game persuasion skill. No dice. I was facing a brick wall with this quest. The only choice I had was to kill the paladins. So that's exactly what I did. But after I stepped over their bodies to proceed into the farmhouse, I discovered that the murderers inside were possessed innocents. No way of releasing them from this magical mental bondage presented itself. The most expeditious way of moving forward with the quest was to kill them. I did that…and then discovered a love letter from a possessed woman to one of the paladins that had stopped me at the door.

Hello, guilt. It took me a long time to get over how bad I felt about killing these people. Part of me wanted to load a save and replay it all. But my victims were already dead. Going back and trying to change what I'd done wouldn't wash the blood from my hands. I eventually moved forward and went on to kill a lot more people in even more heartbreaking ways. Still, I never forgot this scene at the farmhouse, because that was an "innocence lost" moment that opened my eyes to how affective and surprising Divinity II: Original Sin can be.

I don't know if I've ever felt so emotionally wrapped up in a game and its characters, and pulling at your heartstrings is not all that the game does well. Larian Studios has crafted one of the finest role-playing epics of all time, both in its original form on PC and in its Definitive Edition released for PC, PS4, and Xbox One (for specific comments on this version of the game, see the bottom of this review). Meaningful choices, evocative writing, and superb acting in the fully voiced script make for a wholly believable world. The detailed and free-flowing combat engine provides challenging and rewarding turn-based tactical battles that add tension to every action. Character depth includes seemingly endless options for creation, customization, and growth, making every member of your party more of a real individual than the usual collection of buffs and numbers found in most RPGs.

As with its predecessor from 2014, Divinity: Original Sin II's setting remains the D&D-infused fantasy land of Rivellon, but the clock has been moved forward centuries from the original game so you don't need any familiarity with the backstory to quickly get up to speed with what's going on. You take on the role of a Sourceror, a name referring to those that draw arcane power from a mystic material called Source. This substance is controversial in Rivellon, because using it seems to inadvertently summon interdimensional monsters known as Voidwoken. Deploy Source powers and these bizarre creatures show up to kill everyone in sight. Because of this, you're viewed as a danger to society by the Magisters, a governing body of inquisitors and warriors who claim to serve the Divine Order and protect society by rounding up and "curing" Sourcerors.

The story begins with you and the other members of your four-person party (that's the maximum--you can play with any number of companions or even go solo) being sent off to the island prison of Fort Joy with Source-blocking collars around your necks. You soon realize that you have a greater destiny to fulfill, however. Much of this is tied to your past role in a war serving Lucian, sort of a god-king whose legacy has been taken up by Alexander, his son who now leads the Magisters. Eventually, you and the other members of your party discover that you are Godwoken, demigods who have a chance to ascend and basically replace the seven gods under threat by creatures from the Void.

The story isn't just extensive, though; it's detailed and gripping, largely due to how it avoids good-versus-evil fantasy archetypes common to RPGs.

This epic saga is a big undertaking. Expect to use up the better part of 60 to 70 hours to complete the main quest line and a good portion of the many side quests. The story isn't just extensive, though; it's detailed and gripping, largely due to how it avoids good-versus-evil fantasy archetypes common to RPGs. Moral ambiguity is with you every step of the way as you progress from a prison boat to Fort Joy, to the sandy beaches and forests of Reaper's Coast, to the tropical Nameless Isle, and finally the besieged city of Arx.

But while you start off with persecuted Sourcerors on one side and oppressive Magisters on the other, events soon carry you into a world of unrelenting grey where most people are trying to do the right thing, yet failing miserably. Some Sourcerors are criminals. Some Magisters are conflicted about what they are doing and want to change the system. Voidwoken may have good reasons behind their actions in Rivellon. Gods have enough hidden agendas that mortals may be better off without them. Even the paladin faction that shows up in the game as heroes turns into blinkered zealots, overseeing the siege of a city, leaving bodies overflowing atop buckling wooden carts in their wake.

No Caption Provided
Gallery image 1Gallery image 2Gallery image 3Gallery image 4Gallery image 5Gallery image 6Gallery image 7Gallery image 8Gallery image 9Gallery image 10

Basically, nobody can be trusted or measured at face value; not even your comrades, as only one of you can ascend to godhood. You're left wide open when it comes to determining a course of action, with very few moments forcing you down a particular path. Play good, play evil, play something in between. This approach is incredibly freeing. It lets you guide your character and party according to your own moral compass, or lack of one. I don't believe I've felt this attuned to a role-playing experience since I played pen-and-paper D&D many years ago.

Freedom with character design and development really boosts this feeling. Character depth is tremendous, and with every hero in the game comes with a wide range of core attributes plus civil abilities, combat abilities, skills, talents, Source abilities, and more. Five racial choices blend the expected--humans and dwarves--with the offbeat--elves who consume body parts and self-conscious undead who hide their faces to avoid scaring NPCs.

You can roll your own protagonist or choose from one of six predefined characters representing each race. Each one comes with a specialized storyline that immerses you deeper into the saga. Even then, you're allowed a free hand to customize everything. You're even able to tell those joining your party what sort of adventurer you'd like them to be. Next to standard classes such as Fighters and Clerics are more innovative options such as Metamorphs and Shadowblades, and a slew of talents that dictate even more nuanced capabilities. So if you want to take on, say, the arrogant lizard Red Prince or the sinister elf Sebille, you're not locked into a set class as you would be in most RPGs.

At a glance, combat is not much different from many computer RPGs. Battles are turn-based, with an allotment of action points governing your decisions. But Divinity: Original Sin II differs from its peers by consistently taking terrain and environmental elements into consideration. Pools of water can be frozen into slippery sheets of ice. High ground gives boosts to damage and low ground restricts it. And enemies turn these battlefield features into advantages, too. Hang out too close to a pool of oil and you can guarantee that an opponent will set it on fire. Evil archers and spellcasters always run or teleport to high locations so that they can snipe from relative safety.

As a result, battles are damn tough. You may have to play and lose some battles at least once in order to assess how the enemy can strike and determine a way to counter their advances. Thankfully, there are a number of difficulty options that let you control the pace of victory. The Explorer option nerfs enemies and boosts heroes to emphasize story over combat difficulty, so you get the flavor of the game without the serious challenge. Classic is the standard mode of play--tough but not insanely challenging. Tactician ups everything a little more, and Honor is the ultimate challenge, where you have just one save slot that gets deleted if everyone is killed. There is something here for just about every level of commitment and ability.

I freewheeled in Classic mode as I went, directing characters into roles and training them based on what worked best in battle. Character progression felt as if I was moulding real warriors through an adventure, pitfalls and all. I truly empathized with my party, to the point that I couldn't let any of them go later on to try one of the other heroes on offer, like the witty and talented undead Fane. There's one reason for a replay, but it's not the only one.

Where most RPGs let you push on and experience almost everything in a single playthrough, it is impossible to experience all that this one has to offer in one play, or maybe even two or three.

Quest design in Divinity: Original Sin II is closer to a pen-and-paper feel than any computer RPG that I've ever played. The biggest reason for this is that you can screw up. An NPC can be randomly killed, shutting down a quest before it starts. Sometimes you simply cannot succeed at a skill check necessary to move a particular adventure along in the way you desire. Failing persuasion checks, as noted above in that farmhouse story, is fairly routine, forcing you to figure out another way forward and damn the consequences. Where most RPGs let you push on and experience almost everything in a single playthrough, it is impossible to experience all that this one has to offer in one play, or maybe even two or three.

Quests are not perfect, though. The journal system of tracking them isn't nearly robust enough to keep up with how many you have going at any given time. You can't search it, and even worse, key elements are frequently not included in the text descriptions. As a result of this quest confusion, I got lost more often than I should have. I spent too much time not sure what I was supposed to be doing due to vague journal entries, or wandering around searching for a key location that for reasons unknown was not noted on the map. I know some will believe this to be a good thing, that we finally have a serious RPG that doesn't hold the hands of its players. But this issue seems more like a disconnect between how quests are offered up during the game and how they are tracked in the journal than any commitment to old-school difficulty.

In addition to the expansive single-player campaign, you can also play with friends cooperatively or dive into an even truer pen-and-paper role-playing simulation with Game Master mode--a section of the game that can live on potentially longer than Divinity's own campaign. This is the kind of game that you're best off playing online with friends; the involved story and the necessity to use teamwork in combat make the game too challenging if you're adventuring with uncooperative strangers.

All of the above has been enhanced with the release of the Definitive Edition of Divinity: Original Sin II.

All of the above has been enhanced with the release of the Definitive Edition of Divinity: Original Sin II, which also sees the game making its console debut on PS4 and Xbox One. Larian Studios was kind to PC owners as well, offering a free upgrade that lets you launch either the original or new versions (old saves are not compatible with the new game). This revamp makes it worthwhile to play one of the greatest RPGs of the past few years all over again. Comprehensive work has refined the plot, quest journal, interface, balance, difficulty, and more. New content has been added, like new encounters in Arx, an expanded tutorial, more informative tool tips, new battles, and a Story mode (which lowers difficulty) for those who want more adventuring and less reloading.

The console version of the Definitive Edition is an almost entirely seamless port of the original PC game. I have to admit that I had my doubts playing the game on PS4 due to concerns about navigating such a complex RPG without the benefit of mouse and keyboard. But Larian has done a superb job of moving the control system to a gamepad. Everything can be accessed readily, mostly using the left stick and the shoulder buttons to open a radial menu where you access character stats, equipment, inventory, skills, and so forth. While this control system lacks the immediacy offered by a cursor and keyboard hotkeys, it is remarkably smooth and soon becomes intuitive.

No Caption Provided

My only lingering gripe would be with using the control bars for abilities, gear, and spells during combat. You need to flip past a lot of icons over five pages to access all of the skills that your characters need to utilize in order to survive the game's demanding tactical combat. At the same time, the game's mechanics are simply too big to convert from the standard mouse-and-keyboard combo to a gamepad with just a handful of buttons and not encounter some awkwardness.

Other altered elements cut down the amount of busy work required when adventuring through this vast game. The user interface has been enlarged for TV screens, making everything clearer and more distinct. Inventories now encompass the entire party on a single screen, making it easy to check out all of your gear and handle common tasks like learning new skills from books. Items can be transferred between party members with a couple of button presses. Holding down the X button on the PS4 allows you to search large sections of the landscape on a single screen for goodies to loot.

No Caption Provided

The journal has been comprehensively rewritten with the goal of making the storyline and quests clearer. According to Larian, more than 150,000 words of text have been rewritten or added. Instructions still leave something to be desired, though. In the main quest log now, directions have been condensed to brief sentences that are more to-the-point than in the original version of the game. While it's a more direct approach, the short descriptions rarely tell anything aside from the bare bones about going to certain places, helping NPCs, delivering items, and so forth. It comes at the expense of some of the game's flavor without making quests all that much easier to follow than they were before, in that they lack a lot of specifics. As a result, I still found myself bewildered every now and then with regard to where to go and what to do.

The closing chapter in Arx has been reworked in a similar fashion to increase clarity. Where the original game sort of just threw your heroes into this devastated city with no stated goals other than to find chief villain Dallis, several plot threads have now been expanded, like the one with the dwarves and Deathfog, with new NPCs, extensive dialogue, and new battles adding to the apocalyptic mood. There is definitely more going on in the city, and I felt connected to a bigger picture. There is also a steadier narrative drive to the conclusion. Still, the Arx changes don't make a tremendous difference, as most of the city and its quests are nearly identical to what they were in the original game. And Arx still seems out of place coming after the penultimate Nameless Isle chapter. That puzzle-heavy section of the game continues to feel more like the proper setting for the finale, due to its singular focus on the protagonist's ascension to the ranks of the gods.

No Caption Provided

A lot of other little changes make appreciable differences. Persuasion appears to be easier, which let me open up quests that walled me off with failure before. This time around I could succeed in swaying NPCs to my point of view much of the time, and I felt that I was able to experience more of the game as a result. Story mode adds resurrection as a skill, includes the ability to readily flee combat, and dramatically reduces battle difficulty. The latter made it easier to tolerate lengthier encounters that I didn't want to slog through again. At the same time, Story Mode doesn't turn the game into a total cakewalk. Gruelling scraps can still be a challenge. But if you do find it too easy, you can shift back to tougher difficulty settings on the fly.

Divinity II: Original Sin will always have a strong degree of complexity, regardless of design changes. The Definitive Edition remains a complicated affair where your path has been left almost entirely wide open. Definitive or not, console or PC, this is a game that remains true to its inscrutable CRPG roots. Once again, though, even while I have to gripe about being left in the dark at times, the freeform design makes it all worthwhile. I'll accept some confusion and uncertainty if the trade-off is a wonderfully realized and almost boundless fantasy world.

From lonely farmhouses through pitched battles with gods in far-flung dimensions, Divinity: Original Sin II is one of the most captivating role-playing games ever made in both its original and Definitive incarnations, with the latter proving that even the most complicated role-players can be ported successfully to gamepad-limited consoles. This immaculately conceived and emotion-wrought fantasy world, topped by brilliant tactical combat, make it one of the finest games of recent years, and it remains an instant classic in the pantheon of RPG greats.

Disclosure: Former GameSpot reviews editor Kevin VanOrd currently works at Larian Studios, serving as a writer on Divinity: Original Sin II.

Back To Top
The Good
Spectacular scope and depth that could easily keep you playing for over 100 hours
Detailed plot set in a world that seems completely lived in and authentic
Expansive tactical combat with seemingly unlimited options based on spells, skills, gear, and ever-changing battlefield terrain
Deep character creation and customization options due to extensive ability and skill options
Beautiful visuals along with an evocative musical score and impressive voiced dialogue
The Bad
Confusing journal makes it hard to keep track of individual quests and the plot
10
Essential
About GameSpot's Reviews

About the Author

Brett spent more than 70 hours questing his way to godhood in the original Divinity: Original Sin 2 on PC, and then did it all over again with the Definitive Edition on PS4 (and had no regrets!). GameSpot was provided with complimentary copies of the game by Larian Studios.
566 Comments  RefreshSorted By 
GameSpot has a zero tolerance policy when it comes to toxic conduct in comments. Any abusive, racist, sexist, threatening, bullying, vulgar, and otherwise objectionable behavior will result in moderation and/or account termination. Please keep your discussion civil.

Avatar image for deviltaz35
DEVILTAZ35

7042

Forum Posts

0

Wiki Points

0

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 5

Edited By DEVILTAZ35

It doesn't deserve a 10 on Switch you have to be joking. The framerate often tanks to around 12-15 fps at best. It might be turn based combat which helps but it doesn't give it a total pass like a 10 indicates. It's a 10 on PC, 9 on Xbox one X and 7.5 on Switch as it just doesn't give the same level of fun during gameplay that can be had with better versions.

Avatar image for aross2004
aross2004

6448

Forum Posts

0

Wiki Points

0

Followers

Reviews: 4

User Lists: 0

Greatest RPG I have ever played. Reminded me so much of playing tabletop in college with my homeboys.

I member!!!

Avatar image for bobbo888
bobbo888

483

Forum Posts

0

Wiki Points

0

Followers

Reviews: 7

User Lists: 0

Yall have some incorrect info pop up on the page when you first open it.

First released December 31st 2016?

Reviewed September 5th 2018?

Avatar image for aaronalbana
Aaronalbana

7

Forum Posts

0

Wiki Points

0

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 5

Edited By Aaronalbana

Beat the game on my first ever playthrough ( chose honor mode right off the bat ). People who don’t play this game should be thrown in jail. It’s that good.

Avatar image for mbounce88
mbounce88

93

Forum Posts

0

Wiki Points

0

Followers

Reviews: 2

User Lists: 0

Edited By mbounce88

I wish I would have waited. Got this this on sale a couple months ago xbox one x gamefly.let me tell you

This game is absolutely a 10/10 . It has loot, interactions, good graphics, replayability, choice, mystery, racism, lust, smoking herbs, and you can tell the developers put a lot into this one. If you havent played this buy the switch version. If you have buy the switch version and use different builds/characters. On the go would be one helluva way to play this epic masterpiece

Avatar image for ACLMUSIC
ACLMUSIC

26

Forum Posts

0

Wiki Points

0

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

I'm still playing through the DOS I Enhanced on Xbox, near the later stages of the game. DOS forced me to "slow down" slow my need for rapid progression, skipping details, and rushing into battles. Once I "reset" my expectations and past experiences I began to love the game. It's old school with tough puzzles and unforgiving with none of the hand holding most games provide. If you can deal with that then DOS II might be a game you can enjoy.

Avatar image for gamingdevil800
gamingdevil800

6625

Forum Posts

0

Wiki Points

0

Followers

Reviews: 75

User Lists: 0

Tried playing this on PS4 with a mate... bit of a disaster considering it was clearly built for PC with no attempt to streamline it for a controller.

Avatar image for wswedin
wswedin

195

Forum Posts

0

Wiki Points

0

Followers

Reviews: 9

User Lists: 0

@gamingdevil800: I played it on PS4 with the opposite experience... it worked surprisingly well and flowed easily. Its astonishing how the majority say its amazing how well it ported, while you come up with a different result. I genuinely wonder how that happened... logically to me it seems it would have to do with the user more than the port, however I don't know and its a deduction based on little evidence on my part.

Avatar image for LoveBird-
LoveBird-

59

Forum Posts

0

Wiki Points

0

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

I have NEVER played this game but I saw it on Steam and now it is on PS4. Hardcore RPG fan here. Not loads of free time but I'm TIRED of hearing about this game...Should I bite?

Avatar image for aross2004
aross2004

6448

Forum Posts

0

Wiki Points

0

Followers

Reviews: 4

User Lists: 0

@LoveBird-: It's a must play.

Say goodbye to your life.

Avatar image for LethalBurst
LethalBurst

137

Forum Posts

0

Wiki Points

0

Followers

Reviews: 1

User Lists: 0

Edited By LethalBurst

@LoveBird-: I question how much of a hardcore RPG fan you are if you never played this game or the first Divinity: Original Sin. :P

Seriously, though, this game is one of the best RPGs EVER MADE, and you ABSOLUTELY should play it.

Avatar image for tj3n123
tj3n123

32

Forum Posts

0

Wiki Points

0

Followers

Reviews: 4

User Lists: 0

@LoveBird-: You don't say, both games is amazing, the first 2 games makes me play all over again after finished.

Avatar image for sakaixx
sakaiXx

6240

Forum Posts

0

Wiki Points

0

Followers

Reviews: 7

User Lists: 5

@LoveBird-: yes

Avatar image for Thanatos2k
Thanatos2k

14915

Forum Posts

0

Wiki Points

0

Followers

Reviews: 1

User Lists: 0

It's not just a 10/10, it's the best RPG in over a decade.

Avatar image for edwardnygma
EdwardNygma

5201

Forum Posts

0

Wiki Points

0

Followers

Reviews: 40

User Lists: 0

Why isn’t this review being featured prominently on the main page? I saw it for half a second and it disappeared.

Avatar image for wswedin
wswedin

195

Forum Posts

0

Wiki Points

0

Followers

Reviews: 9

User Lists: 0

@edwardnygma: The review was too hardcore for the main page, and left it.

Avatar image for edwardnygma
EdwardNygma

5201

Forum Posts

0

Wiki Points

0

Followers

Reviews: 40

User Lists: 0

@wswedin: lol

Avatar image for CRAPCOM1926
CRAPCOM1926

390

Forum Posts

0

Wiki Points

0

Followers

Reviews: 64

User Lists: 0

is not Persona 5, is not shin megami tensei, is not Dragon quest...so is not for everyone people. This game is for Hardfreaking Core Players but more important you need to have A LOT OF FREE TIME, Pay Attention, Have Imagination and Patience...otherwise you wont succed and the game doesnt care about your enjoyment.

This could be seen as a bad thing...sure for casual and non hardcore rpg fans or Jrpg fans it sure but thats the thing, this game is for a expecific crow...i didnt even knew this was going to be port To console, looks like a masterpiece and yet is a niche game

So you have been Warn people...take The game seriusly.

Would i recommend this game to anyone? Heck no, only if you have the Time.

Avatar image for MashedBuddha
MashedBuddha

63

Forum Posts

0

Wiki Points

0

Followers

Reviews: 6

User Lists: 0

@CRAPCOM1926:

Gotta say, time sucking games are making gaming a chore. I loved the first one, and played about half of it, gave up on the lengthier battles (a big issue I have with the 2nd one), but I'm currently replaying it coop with my gf and it's really fun.

Don't know if I can consider the 2nd one, I played the entire first island (found out I coudln't continue from the demo into the full game) and I just don't love it like everyone else. I have my reasons, and the vast majority of supporters downvoted my well thought out review on Steam. And I don't have the time for it (I'm hoping to finally finish Skyrim soon). I'm hoping I can just play POE2 some day. Who knows, if we're still together in a decade maybe we'll co-op D:OS 2 as well.

Avatar image for CRAPCOM1926
CRAPCOM1926

390

Forum Posts

0

Wiki Points

0

Followers

Reviews: 64

User Lists: 0

@MashedBuddha: i am pretty much in the same boat as you, this game or rather this franchise is extensive and difficult and i really dont have that much time.

Avatar image for timthegem
timthegem

633

Forum Posts

0

Wiki Points

0

Followers

Reviews: 2

User Lists: 0

If any game ever deserved an 11/10, this is it.

Avatar image for feign707
feign707

21

Forum Posts

0

Wiki Points

0

Followers

Reviews: 6

User Lists: 5

Just began this game on PS4. The first was great, but this game is phenomenal.

Avatar image for marsupialman
marsupialman

8

Forum Posts

0

Wiki Points

0

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

Edited By marsupialman  Online

I have a few questions about the console version, if anybody can help.

1) is the dungeon master mode in the console version?

2) can you play 4 player co-op with 2 people local and 2 more online? Or does the game force you to choose between local and online?

Avatar image for phili878
phili878

1565

Forum Posts

0

Wiki Points

0

Followers

Reviews: 16

User Lists: 0

If PS4 fanboys would have shown more interest in this game than boring Horizon.....Horizon is garbage compared to this.

Avatar image for CRAPCOM1926
CRAPCOM1926

390

Forum Posts

0

Wiki Points

0

Followers

Reviews: 64

User Lists: 0

@phili878: they are 2 different Genres and no Horizon is not garbage, you are just a one trick pony...now Horizon was OVERRATED but still a very good game.

Avatar image for phili878
phili878

1565

Forum Posts

0

Wiki Points

0

Followers

Reviews: 16

User Lists: 0

@CRAPCOM1926:

sure, what I meant however was that PS4 fanboys were constantly bragging about Horizon, even when this game came out it was shortly forgotten while they kept bragging about an inferior game.

Avatar image for CRAPCOM1926
CRAPCOM1926

390

Forum Posts

0

Wiki Points

0

Followers

Reviews: 64

User Lists: 0

@phili878: AH....the annoying fanbase....you should know by now that bragging fans can really ruin the experience for some people ( They did for me with last of us) I get that but is not an INFERIOR GAME, it play completly different man, you need to understand That. Compare Horizon with lets see....another overhyped and overrated Game Like Witcher 3 in that regard i find Horizon combat more fun but the quest and activities and the lore were more appealing to me Than horizon and So On.

Divinity 2 is a Terrific Game but is not for me...i can t beat....i refuse too look for a guide, the game is brutal....perhap i ll just give it a rest and play something else and them i ll try again.

Avatar image for alehyder92
alehyder92

5

Forum Posts

0

Wiki Points

0

Followers

Reviews: 1

User Lists: 5

@phili878: Disagree with both of you. Both of the games are doing well in the market and in the gaming world. Horizon Zero Dawn captures a post futuristic era and makes the world start fresh with technology the key factor. The game play was smooth and intriguing.

Avatar image for CRAPCOM1926
CRAPCOM1926

390

Forum Posts

0

Wiki Points

0

Followers

Reviews: 64

User Lists: 0

@alehyder92: Duh Horizon is probably the Last of US of PS4 ( Sell wises and Overrated wise) and divinity 2 was release last year on PC and this kind of game are loved in the PC community if you can run it. As for Horizon Post apocaliptic era and stuff....i prefer Fallout...but i do want a Sequel for horizon...maybe in PS5.

Avatar image for alehyder92
alehyder92

5

Forum Posts

0

Wiki Points

0

Followers

Reviews: 1

User Lists: 5

@CRAPCOM1926: You think Last Of Us was over-rated? :o

Avatar image for CRAPCOM1926
CRAPCOM1926

390

Forum Posts

0

Wiki Points

0

Followers

Reviews: 64

User Lists: 0

Edited By CRAPCOM1926

@alehyder92: You do know what Overrated means, dont you? And yes The last of us was the most generic game i have ever played and Last of us 2 is going to be the exact same Thing, The only things that got going for were The Graphics that arent no longer impressive ( That means it has age not so well) and The Narrative ( which is pretty good) As for teh rest....The gameplay was Super ultra generic we have seen 3rd person shooter since i dont know Resident evil 4? Siphon Filther On the original PSX? The Non existent exploration except for like 3 or 4 Chapters?

The dumb AI? The stupid censorship? I mean Dead Space 1 and were Gory, violent and entertainent as **** and they both pre date The last of us for Like atleast 2 years man.

What i am suppose to see in that game? Nothing Is just super generic mainstream casual game, is like people have only played like 5 or 6 games in their entire lifes before playing LOU enjoy it and declare it a master piece when in reality is not, The stealth sections are ok but guess who does Stealth better, MetalGear, Oh You can Craft Your equipment and it has survival elements? Oh geez i thats so super original is like is something that has never been done before the past 20 Years (1996 resident evil on the psx and onward, silent hill, the craft aspect is redundant instead of getting ammo, you get trick by the developers by letting you find Thrash item that u can use to improve your equipment) You realise Dead Rising 2 allow you to transform Anything into a weapon right? Sure is over the top and Silly an non "REALISTIC" ( whats with the realistic quotes? The last of us is a VIDEOGAME they arent realistic in the first Place)

And so on i have heard everything about that game for me is good game but super overrated and not a true master piece at all. There is nothing in that game that i havent seen done before in other games. Did i played the last of us? Yes i beat it once and i did Like the story, the story was Great but thats the thing the story alone cant make a VIDEOGAME a master piece, just look at nier automata for example, the story is quite good but there is a lot of boring crap too do and yes is Boring because that game was made by Platinum Games you know the people who made devil may cry 1, Bayonetta, Vanquish, Madworld i get what they were triying to do with teh setting and the story wrote by yoko taro but that is not excuse for the average gameplay when they have made Better games before it. ( not counting transformer TNMT or Korra)

Avatar image for girlusocrazy
GirlUSoCrazy

8676

Forum Posts

0

Wiki Points

0

Followers

Reviews: 3

User Lists: 0

Does the PS4 version have different camera options, like behind the shoulder or a free camera? That would make the game much more immersive and appealing to me.

Avatar image for lionheartssj1
lionheartssj1

3939

Forum Posts

0

Wiki Points

0

Followers

Reviews: 12

User Lists: 0

Edited By lionheartssj1

@girlusocrazy: I'm a fan of the traditional CRPG camera angle, but options like this would be pretty awesome for this game.

Avatar image for jesmou
JesMou

1

Forum Posts

0

Wiki Points

0

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 5

Why does not this review include xbox?

please update also as xbox...

Avatar image for CRAPCOM1926
CRAPCOM1926

390

Forum Posts

0

Wiki Points

0

Followers

Reviews: 64

User Lists: 0

@jesmou: so this is also in Xbox ? Wow i mean..is a PC port so makes sense that it should have been a MP release....weird....i know Xbox is not doing so Hot compare to 360 era but come on gamespot.

Avatar image for assurhaddon
Assurhaddon

61

Forum Posts

0

Wiki Points

0

Followers

Reviews: 26

User Lists: 5

Talking about bias, why don't they mention the Xbox version at the headline/bottom?

Avatar image for ormgaard
Ormgaard

81

Forum Posts

0

Wiki Points

0

Followers

Reviews: 5

User Lists: 5

I did not like the first one but i love this one i'm on my 3rd playthrough.

Avatar image for irishinstigator
IrishInstigator

153

Forum Posts

0

Wiki Points

0

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 5

The first one was overrated to be honest. Everyone praised it, but I found it rather uninteresting. Maybe I'll check this one when it goes on sale or something to see if they've improved on it enough to justify the purchase.

Avatar image for TheBusterMan
TheBusterMan

50

Forum Posts

0

Wiki Points

0

Followers

Reviews: 1

User Lists: 0

@irishinstigator: So much better than the first one.It's GOTY for me.

Avatar image for Berserk8989
Berserk8989

1516

Forum Posts

0

Wiki Points

0

Followers

Reviews: 7

User Lists: 0

@irishinstigator: It's hard to improve perfection, but they did it.

Avatar image for Deckard2323
Deckard2323

194

Forum Posts

0

Wiki Points

0

Followers

Reviews: 7

User Lists: 0

@irishinstigator: Don't bother. If you didn't like the first one, you won't like this one. It's a lot like the first one... except better in every way. And oh, so beautiful.

Avatar image for toffifee
toffifee

885

Forum Posts

0

Wiki Points

0

Followers

Reviews: 4

User Lists: 0

@Deckard2323: I wouldn't say that. I never really loved the first one, but this is just so much better in my opinion. 8/10 and with the changes presented above, it might get a 10.

Avatar image for nsa_protocol44
NSA_Protocol44

688

Forum Posts

0

Wiki Points

0

Followers

Reviews: 5

User Lists: 5

@Deckard2323: The first one was great until you were halfway trough the game, then it was kinda the same same, not to mention the overwelhming qeusts that they throw at you. I lost my sense of direction and gave up. The armor was the same too only different colors. I hope this one has improved the things i mentioned.

Avatar image for irishinstigator
IrishInstigator

153

Forum Posts

0

Wiki Points

0

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 5

Edited By IrishInstigator

@nsa_protocol44: You hit the nail on the head. I got about halfway in as well and just lost interest. The combat is tiresome and tedious, with every enemy having to act out some slow and boring animation with no skip function available. The story was just some generic fantasy stuff and all the quests got overwhelming. The only thing that kept me going at all when I got to that point was just leveling up and improving my characters a bit, but even that lost its luster eventually.

Avatar image for WingChopMasta
WingChopMasta

408

Forum Posts

0

Wiki Points

0

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

Everything is fantastic. I am really enjoying it other than how badly they've set up the journal system. It's just a mess of random quests I've stumbled upon with almost no information on what they're really about. I can't tell if they're even near my level so I find myself getting stomped on some random weird little side quest because apparently, I'm like 5 level too weak?

I get that they wanted to make it 'hardcore' with a pen and paper feel but at least when playing pen and paper you could bribe your DM for a little more information on wtf is going on.

I've been spoiled with fairly straightforward direction so that might be it but for the size of the game and the fact that I don't have 1000+ to put into it. I'd wish it could have been a setting for a little more direction.

Avatar image for goodgamesguy
GoodGamesGuy

1141

Forum Posts

0

Wiki Points

0

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

So the bad points on this game are the same from the first one..? I tried to like it but the main and side quests always felt so vauge in there description which often would annoy me and keep me from getting immersed or continuing on with the game. Also the fact when I was playing with my brother online he would get the trophy for something we completed and I would not get the same trophy on my console. Everything else about the game was great so I’ll probably pick this one up next year when it’s considerably cheaper.

Divinity: Original Sin II More Info

Follow
  • First Released Dec 31, 2016
    released
    • Macintosh
    • Nintendo Switch
    • + 3 more
    • PC
    • PlayStation 4
    • Xbox One
    Divinity: Original Sin 2 is a single- and multiplayer top-down, party-based role-playing game with pen & paper RPG-like levels of freedom.
    8.7
    Average Rating186 Rating(s)
    Please Sign In to rate Divinity: Original Sin II
    Developed by:
    Larian Studios, BlitWorks
    Published by:
    Larian Studios, Spike Chunsoft
    Genre(s):
    Role-Playing
    Content is generally suitable for ages 17 and up. May contain intense violence, blood and gore, sexual content and/or strong language.
    Mature
    Blood and Gore, Language, Sexual Themes, Violence