How in the heck does the gaming industry stay alive??

This topic is locked from further discussion.

Savage_Doom

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 4

User Lists: 0

#1  Edited By Savage_Doom
Member since 2007 • 364 Posts

I'm somewhat new to gaming. Everything I've read about the finance behind gaming companies is SCARY. It seems they rarely make much of a profit, constantly making up for sunk costs, seldom brake even, always on the edge of bankruptcy (one mediocre game can sink the company), etc. Plus the cost of production and marketing games are MASSIVE. It seems like a very unsteady up and down industry, games are such a hit or miss (and the miss is BAD).

This leads me to my questions... Why would anyone want to get into the gaming industry (doesn't seem very profitable for most)? Is the risk truly worth the reward? Do gaming companies really make that much of a profit? How does the gaming industry stay afloat, is it going to collapse?

For a hobby that is so expensive, I would think the companies that produce for the hobby would have extreme monetary success. What are your thoughts? I'm very curious about this subject.

Savage_Doom

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#2 Savage_Doom

Nobody wants to take a stab at this?

oflow

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 40

#3 oflow
Member since 2003 • 5185 Posts

Easy because the product they sell basically cost nothing after its finished. A DVD costs at most $1 to manufacture and they sell them for $60, and then sell lots of games digitally so they dont even pay that cost.

Yeah some games flop and dont break even, but some games sell in huge numbers. Games like Witcher, UC4, Halo 5, BF, CoD etc sell millions of copies. If CoD sells 10m copies at $60/per copy thats $600million in revenue. Even if it cost $200 million to make the game (and most games dont cost that much to make only the biggest AAAs do) thats still a huge return on investment.