What game finally made you say "enough", and changed your purchasing habits?

#1 Posted by MarkoftheSivak (206 posts) -

What game(s) have made you actually change your purchase methods because it was so abysmal or anti-consumer.

For me it was Mass Effect: Andromeda, after the dumpster fire that it was, I promised myself I would never purchase another game until I had read multiple critic and user reviews. So far this has paid off or I would have been bludgeoned by FO76 and Darksiders III.

Any games like this for you?

#2 Posted by Archangel3371 (26440 posts) -

None that I can think of for as long as I can remember. I follow gaming very closely and am very adept at knowing which games I’ll most likely enjoy. I haven’t gotten anything that I really regretted enough to alter my game purchasing habits.

#3 Edited by jun_aka_pekto (24537 posts) -

None. I do my research first. That means no preorders. I also only buy games on impulse if I have some knowledge about reviews for it.

The only games I'm blind about are those I received as a gift.

#4 Edited by 2Chalupas (6924 posts) -

I rarely buy games day 1 or pre-order anything anymore, so I am rarely disappointed by spending $60 on a game that turns out to be crap. The only time I was ever into "pre-ordering" was when they used to give you $20 gift card or whatever to pre-order- but i still only did it with selective games. I guess the dumbest thing i ever did was buy Yakuza 4 (PS3) because it came with Yakuza 3 as a bonus. Not dumb because there is anything wrong with the games, dumb because I literally have still never opened them! I had quite a backlog last gen, and that's what made me realize this gen I should slow it down a bit. Too many games I wasn't going to have time for.

I'd say the closest I came this gen was Battlefront II, but I actually enjoyed that one despite the stupidity associated with it.

Actually I think the last two games I bought truly "day 1" were Battlefront II and Red Dead 2.