Open Vs Closed platforms

This topic is locked from further discussion.

aia89

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 4

User Lists: 0

#1 aia89
Member since 2009 • 2828 Posts

aka Pc vs Consoles/Mac/Mobiles etc.

I'd like to have your guys' opinion on that. what do you prefer and why?

I always hated on Apple computers because of them being closed platforms that defy the concept of fiddling, upgrading and so on; there are also many pictures on the internet, like the so called gay tests:

but I had the possibility to try the Ipad, which I hate so much, and a Mac, that I'm recently using at the office and I gotta say that, this latter, for some aspects it makes things easier than Windows-based Pc's.

Still I'm a newbie to the Apple world, but let's go back to the OP.

are you guys more like win easy or win hard?

are closed platforms the way to go for the industry or open ones are?

Hexagon_777

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

#2 Hexagon_777
Member since 2007 • 20348 Posts
I heavily dislike closed systems, that being one reason why I am selling my Sony PlayStation 3. The PC just gives you SO MANY MORE options, many of them being free to boot. I am done with consoles and I would never get an overpriced Apple computer either.
ShadowDeathX

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 4

#3 ShadowDeathX
Member since 2006 • 11698 Posts

I personally hate closed systems. Ok, well not hate but I dislike them. I much better prefer an open platform.

Android Linux for Phone. PC and Linux for Desktop and Laptop Computing.

Closed System, do have their perks over open platforms. Things tend to be more organized and stuff, doesn't matter to me though.

Closed Systems however tend to be more expensive just for that perk. Ugh yuck.

nameless12345

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#5 nameless12345
Member since 2010 • 15125 Posts

I believe home computers like the Commodore 64 should make a return:

:P

Pug-Nasty

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers