Miyamoto: Japanese gamers don't like difficult games

• 82 results

This topic is locked from further discussion.

rjdofu

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1 rjdofu
Member since 2008 • 9171 Posts

http://nintendoenthusiast.com/20348/miyamoto-believes-japanese-gamers-dislike-difficult-games/

Ive been making action games for some 30 years, and Ive been thinking about the difference evident in how their popularity has been gradually declining in Japan whilst in America it has been maintained.

The issue is that Japanese who cannot overcome the level of difficulty in an action game no longer want to play them. This perception then spreads to all games as a whole, and people avoid them because they see them as difficult.

In the case of America, there are a lot more people who enjoy a challenge and will stick with it for you and try to overcome the initial hurdle.

Yes, its action games which really demand a certain level of skill.

Right, some players just enjoy playing, some prefer to finish it, and some prefer greater challenge. People looking for a challenge will dismiss an easily cleared game as easy.

But by making things too difficult, the people who just want to play get driven off. I always wanted to accommodate both types.

Miyamoto

nintendoboy16

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 36

User Lists: 14

#2 nintendoboy16
Member since 2007 • 37626 Posts

Dude, did you see the main source of that article?

Besides that, it seems like Shigeru Miyamoto is trying to get on gamers bad sides with comments like these. He's like one of those actors who made great movies, but release statements that cause an uproar.

lawlessx

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 2

#3 lawlessx
Member since 2004 • 48753 Posts

such a shame

Demonjoe93

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 107

#4 Demonjoe93
Member since 2009 • 9869 Posts

I actually thought it was supposed to be the opposite. :P

rjdofu

Forum Posts

Wiki Points