Half-Life, Halo, or Call of Duty - which FPS franchise has had a bigger impact on gaming?

Avatar image for SolidGame_basic
SolidGame_basic

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

Poll Half-Life, Halo, or Call of Duty - which FPS franchise has had a bigger impact on gaming? (58 votes)

Half-Life 38%
Halo 28%
Call of Duty 34%

Hello friends (standard SW greeting when creating a thread about FPS),

Today we talk about Half-Life, Halo, and Call of Duty. Which franchise has had a bigger impact on gaming? I'm no FPS expert, I'm pleab who enjoys Rainbow Six Siege. But I recognize that these are big franchises that have had a impact on gaming. I didn't play Half-Life until much later, and was never a big Halo guy (though I'm playing Halo MCC now). To me, Call of Duty made a big impact on gaming. It introduced RPG elements to FPS, added killstreaks to multiplayer, and started the "run and gun" style of play. To me that's badass, so I choose them.

How about you, SW? Half-Life, Halo, or Call of Duty - which FPS franchise has had a bigger impact on gaming?

• 
Ghosts4ever

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 18

#1 Ghosts4ever
Member since 2015 • 24920 Posts

Half life by far. it change the shape of gaming forever.

It was genre defining game as a result Half life 1 and 2 are among 2 of greatest FPS games ever made.

putting COD and Halo is insult.

Jag85

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 219

#2 Jag85
Member since 2005 • 19543 Posts

Halo. It set the basic template for console FPS. It popularized the dual-stick control scheme for console FPS, and it popularized health regeneration in FPS.

Archangel3371

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 4

#3 Archangel3371  Online
Member since 2004 • 44146 Posts

I want to say Halo because it’s my favourite plus it basically put Microsoft on the map in the console market but I think Call of Duty might have had the biggest impact on gaming overall.

WitIsWisdom

Forum Posts