Enough with the movie "games", Shadow of the Colossus is how a cinematic game should be done

This topic is locked from further discussion.

Avatar image for deactivated-5d1e44cf96229
deactivated-5d1e44cf96229

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1  Edited By deactivated-5d1e44cf96229
Member since 2015 • 2814 Posts

Prior to this past week, I would have said that the biggest criticism that I have with this current generation, especially from Sony as they are the most guilty of leading this trend, is that games are too focused on trying to be a cinematic experience. This past week, I've learned that a game can provide an amazing cinematic experience that even a "when I want a story, I'll read a book or watch a movie" kind of person like myself can enjoy.

The thing that has inspired this new viewpoint from me is that I'm currently playing the new Shadow of the Colossus remake. This is my first time ever playing it since it's one of the games that I just never got around to on the PS2 (which I now realize was a huge mistake). I now realize that I don't necessarily have a problem with a game trying to provide a cinematic experience since I would definitely have to classify Shadow of the Colossus as a cinematic experience and I'm loving it. I just have a problem with how this is often done in the typical movie "games" that are popular nowadays.