Does the US need a Post-Trump Truth and Reconciliation Commission?

• 56 results
ComeOnMan

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 5

#1 ComeOnMan
Member since 2017 • 508 Posts

Robert Reich, Labor Secretary under Clinton, is calling for a Truth and Reconciliation Commission after Trump is out. Sorry I'm not tech savvy enough to link in his twitter feed, or thread, or whatever. But I copy/pasted the text of his tweet below.

When this nightmare is over, we need a Truth and Reconciliation Commission. It would erase Trump’s lies, comfort those who have been harmed by his hatefulness, and name every official, politician, executive, and media mogul whose greed and cowardice enabled this catastrophe.

So, what do you think? Especially you virulent anti-Trumpers. Is this something you would like to see happen? And do you want it to stop with just the list in Reich's tweet? Or should ordinary people be encouraged to identify anyone with a Trump yard sign, or seen wearing a MAGA hat, so they can be brought before the commission to confess their sin.

I would certainly not support this, but I am fully prepared to see it happen, given the absolute hatred and vitriol towards Trump and his supporters that has been whipped up.

Eoten

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 10

#2 Eoten
Member since 2020 • 1993 Posts

Politics trying to control the flow of information and make sure nothing that doesn't fit the narrative is allowed to come out. Yeah, sounds like a great idea, I think the Nazi's and KGB had stuff like that. Persecuting supports of a political opponent sound right up there with great ideas. That certainly wouldn't result in a "hot" AF civil war.

mattbbpl

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 0

#3 mattbbpl
Member since 2006 • 19202 Posts

We just need people to stop being stupid. People have made themselves intentionally stupid, and they've made it a matter of pride.