Somewhat randomly I hit the network update icon this morning and had the message come that a later version than the 3.7 is available. I'd heard about this in the forums, that the change would bring new features. It doesn't look like it, though: It simply reads, A correction has been made to the settings for some regions. Apparently, the PS Spot icon that appeared under Network in the XMB wasn't meant for our region.
Ohh well, it's still an update.