PS3 HD Help Wanted!

This topic is locked from further discussion.

hukibeast

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 5

User Lists: 0

#1 hukibeast
Member since 2007 • 334 Posts

I need help with this techn-babble PS3 stuff. I want to use blu-ray DVD's and play my games in HD. My HDTV doesn't have an HDMI outlet. Neither does the gamestop brand audio-video switcher that I bought (to allow me to switch easily between which system I'm using). Both of them only have the red, yellow, and white plugs, as well as the large circular outlet.

Solution? I'm a newb at this stuff, and my knowledge usually doesn't exceed plug yellow-yellow, red-red, white-white.

x-2tha-z

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 18

#2 x-2tha-z
Member since 2003 • 8994 Posts
If you want HD but don't have HDMI your only option is to use either component cables or a HDMI to DVI converter if your tv has a DVI port. Component cables look like old composite cables but instead of having only one lead for picture (yellow is the picture lead for composite cables) component have three for picture (red, green and blue. RGB) component also has the red and white stereo sound leads so make sure you don't get the red for sound lead mixed up with the red for picture if you do decide to go with component. If none of what I just said makes any sense then search for component cable info on google. That's how we all learnt what this stuff means, by reading about it.
hukibeast

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#3 hukibeast