New PSP looking for some opinions

This topic is locked from further discussion.

PSP_DSL_ROX

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 5

User Lists: 0

#1 PSP_DSL_ROX
Member since 2007 • 512 Posts

Despite several peoples suggestion to not get the PSP, I decided to get it. It just seemed like the right system for me. I finally got my PSP and opened it. I was really exicted, charged it up, waited and waited. The first thing I did was check for a dead pixel cause I've heard this is a pretty common problem, didn't see anything, was really happy.

I started playing again later and was watching the screen more closely. Well, I noticed when there was a completely black screen (while it was starting a game up) closer to the top of the screen in the middle, one little tiny dot was lit, everything else was black. So, I checked with the different theme colors and it did the same thing on a few of the darker colors. I am assuming this is what the dead pixel is, or perhaps a hot pixel.

I've been thinking about it, I only have one game right now, a racing game, and one UMD movie. So, in my racing game I don't really notice the pixel and I would think in most games I wouldn't. But, I'm concerned it may bug me a little when I'm watching movies (I tend to be a person that can miss everything that is perfect and concentrate only on the one little problem).....

But, how big of a problem is the dead pixels? I would hate to get one that ends up being worse. If I take it back, am I likely to have the same problem?

Another thing I wasn't to sure of is if this is only a problem that you will have from the start, or if it is something that can develop over time? I didn't notice it at first, so I'm a little worried they are all going to start doing it. I'd hate to just sit and watch as my PSP slowly goes dark on me :cry: