can i really use this as a computer?

This topic is locked from further discussion.

newtonfb

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1 newtonfb
Member since 2006 • 117 Posts
hey guys i installed yellow dog today and im just learning really how to use it. Is it really ok to use as a computer? i dont wanna get a virus or have it overheat on me. But i do like it running real fast and whatnot. It would be nice to use one machine since i was thinking about buyin a new computer anyways.
CaptainCrazy

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 20

#2 CaptainCrazy
Member since 2002 • 6856 Posts
Honestly dude, you can't use a PS3 as a freakin computer. It's too clumsy and not versatile enough for that unless you can somehow hack Win XP or Vista onto the thing.
bytuiop

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#3 bytuiop
Member since 2005 • 148 Posts
yes you can use it has a computer, yellow dog, does a realy good job and the chances of a virus are small to zero.
adamou166

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#4 adamou166
Member since 2005 • 64 Posts
Honestly dude, you can't use a PS3 as a freakin computer. It's too clumsy and not versatile enough for that unless you can somehow hack Win XP or Vista onto the thing.CaptainCrazy
You can use it as a computer, hook up a usb mouse and keyboard, add a moniter and you got it. Provided you know how to install Linux, I recommend Ubuntu as a good Linux OS. I myself plan to run it on my PS3 and use its processing power.
Deyee

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#5 Deyee
Member since 2006 • 882 Posts
Is it really ok to use as a computer? newtonfb

If you like an awkward running console trying to be a PC then sure go for it. Compare the PS3 to a computer purchased 3 years ago. That's about how it runs.

[QUOTE="adamou166"] I myself plan to run it on my PS3 and use its processing power.