Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 5

#1 AmeerAlly91
Member since 2017 • 2 Posts

Hey guys,

So long story short, was moving my PC parts from an old case to a shiny new one...decided to take off the cpu cooler, then decided to wipe and re-apply thermal paste.

Fudged it up with too much thermal paste - wiped and repeated 3 times. Eventually some of it spilled out over the edge of the CPU onto some of the motherboard cpu pins on the border.

Got my loupes out (I'm a dentist) and CAREFULLY picked away at the extra bits, but started getting worried about screwing up the pins as my wipe cloth kept catch on the cpu pins like velcro. So I left it with a few bits of dry thermal paste still on there. Remounted the CPU and installed everything.

Turned on PC, no issues, temps seem fine.

Now I'm a bit paranoid. I've been using the PC fine for the past 24 hours. But my questions are as follows:

- Could a short circuit still happen

- Could this excess paste around the pins hypothetically reduce the CPU performance

- Would I be wise to get remove all the cpu components again and thoroughly clean the cpu pins, or should I just leave it alone seeing as it's all currently working.

Thank you in advance for any advice guys.

GTR12

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 0

#2 GTR12
Member since 2006 • 13490 Posts

@ameerally91: Short answer, its perfectly fine, just leave it alone and forget about it.

FelipeInside

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#3 FelipeInside
Member since 2003 • 28548 Posts

@ameerally91 said:

Shouldn't cause an issue, but up to you if you want to remove everything and clean out the leftover.

Avatar image for PfizersaurusRex
PfizersaurusRex

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 2

#4 PfizersaurusRex
Member since 2012 • 1503 Posts

You can google your thermal paste to see if it's non-conductive, just to feel better about it if it is. I wouldn't touch the pins unless necessary.

RoleplayGaming

Forum Posts