Switching to PC - Need advices!

This topic is locked from further discussion.

SebCrakpot1234

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1 SebCrakpot1234
Member since 2012 • 25 Posts

After years of console gaming, I'm leaving for PC. Only problem is I'm a noob in that world and since I've been shopping for a gaming computer I've been more confused than anything on what to pick.

I would prefer a laptop so I can play when I'm not home but I'm guessing I will have to reconsider this... One thing I'm scared of is paying the big price and then having to buy a new one in 1-3 years because it's out of date and I can't play recent games anymore, cause I like to get games like Borderlands 2, AC3, FC3, Dishonored on release dates or not long after.

So from what I understood maybe I need a non-integrated graphic card so I can change/upgrade it? Or maybe there's graphic cards you can just update by downloading a newer driver?

Also, I noticed by using ''Can you run it'' that a game like Dishonored requires a CPU of at least 3Ghz but when I looked at all top gaming laptops they were all around 2.5 Ghz, only gaming PCs were 3 Ghz and above so this would mean some games or just impossible to be played on laptops?

Another thing confusing is all numbers beside for example NVIDIA Ge force XXXX... does the higher number means it better?

Anyway, thanks for any advices or information anyone can give me. It would really help me and be much appreciated!

funkyzoom

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#2 funkyzoom
Member since 2005 • 1534 Posts

After years of console gaming, I'm leaving for PC. Only problem is I'm a noob in that world and since I've been shopping for a gaming computer I've been more confused than anything on what to pick.