stock build.....extra cooling needed?

This topic is locked from further discussion.

SmokieX

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1 SmokieX
Member since 2005 • 2412 Posts

So I'm finally building a pc this week. It's my first time and I'm really excited. I was wondering if extra cooling is needed. I'll be running everyting at stock speeds, and will not be overclocking.

noodles297

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#2 noodles297
Member since 2008 • 619 Posts

Thats totally dependent on what you're buying. But more than likely as long as your case isn't cramped up like a sardine case, and you have at least two case fans you should be fine. If you're going SLI or Crossfire now or in the future you're gonna need more/bigger fans and probably a water cooled system (a small cheap one depending on the cards) would help. But once again at stock speeds maybe not, but still depends on the card. Some run a lot hotter than others.

SmokieX

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#3 SmokieX
Member since 2005 • 2412 Posts

How would the 5870 do with the haf 922 case? Would you recommend any other case?

noodles297

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#4 noodles297
Member since 2008 • 619 Posts