Question on motherboards

This topic is locked from further discussion.

Jackc8

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 20

User Lists: 0

#1 Jackc8
Member since 2007 • 8515 Posts

Hey guys, I'm a total noob and planning on building a gaming PC this summer.

So far I've purchased:

• Case: Corsair 500R ATX mid tower
  • Power supply: Corasir CX500
  • Optical drive: Lite-on DVD drive

The rest of it will depend on how much money I'm able to save; it will be a budget build. CPU I'm thinking i3-2100 (hopefully) or else Pentium G860. 8 GB memory, Seagate 1 TB drive, some sort of wireless internet adapter, Windows 7, and for a GPU hopefully an HD 7850 from one of the manufacturers.

What's got me confused is the motherboard. I'm currently thinking of an ASRock H61M-DGS micro ATX LGA1155. Like I say I'm a total noob and this one is inexpensive ($45) and seems compatible with my other component choices according to PC Parts Picker. Though the case has USB 3.0 and the motherboard is 2.0, but the case came with an adapter cable and I don't think it really matters for gaming - does it?

I have no idea if one motherboard will increase my gaming performance vs. another, or what features to look for or anything. Will that ASRock motherboard I mentioned be a good choice to start with? Or is it a completely idiotic choice? If so what should I get instead? Preferably not over $100.

I'm not really planning on overclocking the CPU, just because I don't know how. I'll be playing on a 32" 720p TV so I don't think I'll need the last few percentage points of performance. Games I play are RPG's (Skyrim etc.), racing sim's and action/adventure stuff. Don't care about Battlefield 3 or Crysis etc.

Thanks for any advice :)

clyde46

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 1

#2 clyde46
Member since 2005 • 49061 Posts