PC Keeps restarting after Shutdown

This topic is locked from further discussion.

Artekus

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1 Artekus
Member since 2008 • 15700 Posts

Hi, since yesterday my PC has been restarting automatically a few seconds after I shut it down. I googled my problem and every solution I found through that hasn't worked.

I also got a blue screen of death about half an hour ago which doesn't bode well. Can anyone offer some advice as to what the problem could be or to narrow it down at least? Hardware? Corrupt drivers? I'm not tech savvy enough to fix this myself :(

mr_zombie60

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#2 mr_zombie60
Member since 2007 • 560 Posts

Did you notice what error pops up on the screen? It should indicate it somewhere on the blue screen.

mr_zombie60

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#3 mr_zombie60

Could be due to overheating or memory issues

Artekus

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#4 Artekus

For the blue screen it said something about a USB...so it's probably a corrupt driver for my network adaptor or something? I probably sound woefully ignorant.

Artekus

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#5 Artekus

I ran sfc/scannow and no errors were found. I also did a check on my HDD and nothing came up there either.

mr_zombie60

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#6 mr_zombie60

I ran sfc/scannow and no errors were found. I also did a check on my HDD and nothing came up there either.

Artekus

Software errors in drivers are actually a notable cause of blue screens. Can you get your computer to stay on at all? Or will it just not turn on at all without restarting?

Artekus

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#7 Artekus

[QUOTE="Artekus"]

mr_zombie60

Software errors in drivers are actually a notable cause of blue screens. Can you get your computer to stay on at all? Or will it just not turn on at all without restarting?