This topic is locked from further discussion.

Avatar image for chendigitydog05
chendigitydog05

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1 chendigitydog05
Member since 2005 • 25 Posts

Hi guys,

Im new to MMORPG's but not new to gaming by any means. I have reacently downloaded and have been playing the Lord of the Rings Online beta(the first MMORPG i gave a chance because i love lord of the rings) and something hit me. Where is the fun and skill in these games? I am probably very uneducated in the genre so feel free to correct me, but where is the fun and compettion in wandering a vast earth just trying to level up your character. This genre has is exploding right now and every month you hear news about a new MMORPG and i do not see the excitment. To me if feels like whoever plays the longest and gains virtual experience will be the best.Thats not any fun for the casual gamer and is the reason why we hear horror stories of gamming adiction. What happened to the great online genre games such as all the FPS's like Unreal Tournament, Quake, Counter Strike. RTS's like C and C, Warcraft, and Age of empires series. What about Sports games and fighting games. These games took skill. The experience gained through these was real physical knowledge of combos and timing, precision and  patience. It may sound dumb but its true. Try joining an advanced server for your first time playing and watch yourslef did over and over and people jump around and snipe you with precision pulling of incredible shots and combos. Why do you think they have nationwide tournaments for these game to declare a winner? Because it takes skill. Is that possilbe for games such as WoW, or would it be more like crowning the biggest loser becaus he devoted his life to building up his virtual chracter. Is the skill in WoW knowing when to use which power? Wheres the skill in sitting back and hitting the auto attack button and watching your character dominate everyone? I understand th