Mmm... Quadcore...

This topic is locked from further discussion.

Forerunner-117

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1 Forerunner-117
Member since 2006 • 8800 Posts

Hey I got a tipoff to this really good (I think?) PC website called "www.ibuypower.com."! Right now my goal is to play Crysis on at least medium/high settings. And so I found this comp! It's a Quadcore! But I have a question. Are Quadcores really that much more useful/powerful than Core 2 Duos? Like, would I be better off saving some money and going with a Core 2 Duo? Thanks in advance for the help! (p.s. I've always been a console gamer but now I'm making the jump to PCs so right now I'm pretty much a total noob :P)

Oh and here are the specs for the comp that I'm considering! What do you think?

Xion Dazl Gaming Tower Case w/420W Power Supply

Standard Case Power Supply

Intel Core 2 Quad Processor Q6600 (4x 2.4GHz/8MB L2 Cache/1066FSB)

Certified CPU Fan and Heatsink

2048MB DDR2-800 PC6400 Memory Module Corsair-Value

NVIDIA GeForce 8800GTS 640MB w/DVI + TV Out Video

160 GB Hard Drive (Serial-ATA-II, 3GB, 7200 RPM, 8M Cache)

Microsoft Windows Vista Home Premium 64-bit

Avatar image for deactivated-59d151f079814
deactivated-59d151f079814

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 2

#2 deactivated-59d151f079814
Member since 2003 • 47239 Posts

The quad core is not truely a quad core.. And as of right now it does not outperform the E6600 on stock speeds... But this can be changed if you overclock it.. Its more future proof then a Core duo.. Suggest you read reviews on it..

And I suggest you BUILD your computer instead of waste money ona prebuilt one.

rusty587

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 1

#3 rusty587
Member since 2004 • 31 Posts