This topic is locked from further discussion.

Mikka_kippa

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1 Mikka_kippa
Member since 2005 • 971 Posts
Hey, today I made 2 partitions for my hard drive. One of Windows XP and another for Linux. Anyways, this is my first time using Linux, and I'm experiencing a few problems... Firstly I wanna state that I am using Linux Ubuntu (Ubuntu is the distributor, I think) My first problem is my keyboard. It's not that every keyboard doesn't work, it just seems to be that the ones that aren't connected through USB aren't working. Right now I am using a really old crappy one, but it is USB, so it is working fine. They keyboard I want to use works with XP and when I'm in the actual computer choosing which OS to run. I just wanted to know what I should do. My second problem is my graphics. Again, it works perfectly on XP. I have an ATI Radeon X1300 pro graphics card, and when I, for example, move a window it doesn't move smoothly. The window sort of jutters. To fix this problem on the XP, all i needed to do was to install ATI Catalyst control drivers and Direct X, although I don't think I can do that on Linux, can I?? Other than that I think Linux is super cool, but I really don't wanna use this keyboard, it's so gross :S THANKS IN ADVANCE GUYS
Baselerd

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 14

#2 Baselerd
Member since 2003 • 5104 Posts
Just google "radion x1300pro linux drivers"

There is no DirectX for linux, although there are some emulators. DirectX is a microsoft API, linux uses openGL. Also, download and use beryl for your windows manager. It looks better than vista aero+osx+winFX. It makes me want linux, except I have a DELLprinter (got it for free), and DELL would never release drivers for my printer for linux (much less windows vista or XP x64)
lordxymor

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#3 lordxymor
Member since 2004 • 2438 Posts