Grumpy_Pantz

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 5

#1 Grumpy_Pantz
Member since 2017 • 5 Posts

Yes, i heard it before, a laptop isnt the best choice to game on. Im but a simple student who got a laptop for school and dont have the extra funds to buy an awesome PC. (Its on my to do list though)

My laptop has following stuff:

Cpu: Intel core i7-4510 @2.00GHz (i see it 4 times in the processor list?)
Disk: a 800gb disk (HDD)
Display drivers: Inter(R) HD Graphics Family & Nvidia GeForece 840M
RAM: 8 GB
Usage: around 12 hours a day, pretty much non-stop
Age: Around Spring 2016 (is it that old already?.. dahm they grow so fast)

i had the impression this wasnt a bad setup but im not an expert on this.

History of my Laptop:
It went well in the beginning. I could play LoL, warframe, Tera etc with not much troubles that i noticed off.
But now i cant play any games full screen anymore before it starts laggin or flashin all over the place. I didnt rly care at the start is just started playin everything windowed.
Also i get really high ms sometimes at the most random times. (this could also be my network though but it happens quite a lot on different networks), or i would just not be able to connect to any wifi thing for 5 min straight till i reboot.

But now i wanted to play Dark Souls 3 and i read something bout the system requirements online and i thought i could manage. But as soon as i started the game it said that i had problems with my fps and couldnt play online (not much of a problem) but i keep lagging like ive a low frame rate. Graphics are already on Low.

Is there something i can do to change this? Or is my laptop just worn out and old?
Any tips for this laptop-noob? :)

MonsieurX

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 0

#2 MonsieurX
Member since 2008 • 39858 Posts

840m was already a low end GPU when it released and no, you cannot change anything to help it

jun_aka_pekto

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 1