I want to run Vista and Mac OS X without buying an over priced mac. Suggestions?

This topic is locked from further discussion.

will1382

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1 will1382
Member since 2008 • 25 Posts
I have been using both a mac and a PC for the last 3 years. I am looking to invest into a higher end computer(~$2-3K) that can run the Mac os and vista using mac's boot camp, but the packaged mac products are clearly overpriced. What is a good set of specs that I could put together to achieve the same thing? Is an intel quad-core worth? I want to be able to run TF2 and Bioshock on vista, and do HD video editing on the mac os. I am also looking for high rpm hard-drives to hold all my media. The 2-3K I have is for everything, but a monitor. Any experts out there have a good setup in mind?
musclesforcier

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#2 musclesforcier
Member since 2004 • 2894 Posts
If you want OS X you pretty much have to get the computer from apple. If you simply build a computer and instal vista and os x you will have a very hard time getting it to work.
will1382

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#3 will1382
Member since 2008 • 25 Posts
What problems would I have? Mac just uses intel hardware inside their pretty little cases. Would there be compatibility issues? I may be wrong, but the boot camp software is supposed to remedy the problems with duel boot.
SinfulPotato

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#4 SinfulPotato
Member since 2005 • 1381 Posts
While it can be done, running a MAC OS on normal hardware is something Apple goes nuts over. If they let you run their OS on the same hardware you would buy from a place like NEWEGG, they would lose the HUGE profit they make on selling you pure crap and calling it top of the line with their OS installed.
Baselerd

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 14

#5 Baselerd
Member since 2003 • 5104 Posts