I think I owe the mouse/keyboard crowd a concession.

Avatar image for burntbyhellfire
#1 Posted by burntbyhellfire (451 posts) -

So, about a week in with the first ever gaming mouse I've owned, and using it for the past week I started playing Doom (2016) and got about 2 minutes in with its full controller support before I put my controller down and went back to a keyboard and mouse.. it only took me ONE week with a proper gaming mouse to prefer it over 30 years with a controller.

I will however not concede the mouse/keyboard vs controller argument entirely. Keyboard is still an awful, awful interface for gaming, and the thumbstick is certainly way better for movement. I still say get yourself a PS3 navigation controller, or the left side of a joycon with a mouse in the other hand is superior to both mouse and keyboard, and controller alone.

#2 Edited by br0kenrabbit (16128 posts) -

Movement direction is via mouse, keyboard is only used for vectoring (flat movement). Attenuation is via mouse.

Besides the WASD, I can access 16 keys with my left hand without looking. Not counting Caps Lock.

The muscle memory comes with practice, but once its there its all intuitive.

#3 Posted by burntbyhellfire (451 posts) -

it doesnt matter, it'll never be as smooth or as intuitive as using a thumbstick for movement, and multiple fingers already on your most used buttons.. and in FPS games you're typically not using that many functions anyway... needing 16 on a keyboard plus more on a mouse, a game like arma 3 if you will, is just sloppy in its configuration

#4 Posted by dxmcat (2702 posts) -

Don't even need to go as far as Arma

PUBG clearly benefits from having a keyboard over a controller because of all the non-movement functions you can do on a kb.