Difference between C: and D: drive?

This topic is locked from further discussion.

#1 Posted by Potatoes002 (82 posts) -

Im new to this computer thing so bare with me. My computer is very low on memory (C: Drive) but I notice I have another drive (D: ) that has lots of memory avalible. Is there a difference between C: and D: ? Is it pretty much a back up drive? Should I switch files over to free up C: drive? Thanks for your help.

#2 Posted by jtschmitz (293 posts) -

Your hard drive is drive C: This is where your operating system and all of your programs are stored. Drive D: is generally your disc drive. I have never seen a drive that was not a cd given the name D:

The answer to your questions, unfortunately is no you will not be able to just move files over. I suggest: clicking start->control panel->Add or Remove Programs (for XP) and removing any program you no longer need.

With a burning program you would be able to burn data to your CD. But accessing it would be relatively slow, and you would not be able to copy any part of a program onto it and have it work properly.

#3 Posted by JigglyWiggly_ (24605 posts) -
If the files not tied to the registry (like music, pictures, movies) you can cut them over. You CANNOT throw over things like games, and programs.
#4 Posted by Marfoo (5998 posts) -
Uhhh what? The letter assigned to any kind of drive is arbitrary. Just because it's drive D: DOES NOT MAKE IT AN OPTICAL DRIVE. HDDs get the first letters, and the optical after that, and "removable media" after that. If you have a D: drive that has free space it's most likely a second HDD or another partition on the drive. How much space does it have free?
#5 Posted by Potatoes002 (82 posts) -

Ok I understand. I wasnt sure cause drive E: is my CD drive so I just assumed Drive D: (SYSTEM_SAV) was another drive.

#6 Posted by Marfoo (5998 posts) -

Ok I understand. I wasnt sure cause drive E: is my CD drive so I just assumed Drive D: (SYSTEM_SAV) was another drive.