Are the Comptia Certifications even worth getting now?

This topic is locked from further discussion.

Avatar image for deactivated-601cef9eca9e5
deactivated-601cef9eca9e5

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 7

User Lists: 0

#1 deactivated-601cef9eca9e5
Member since 2007 • 3296 Posts

I work in the IT field for an IT consulting company and though is isn't required at this point, my employer is encouraging me to get some certifications. I wanted to get my Comptia A+ and I have heard mixed things about it- some people say its a great foundation and some say it's utterly useless. In addition, comes the topic of renewing it; do I renew or get a higher level cert? (Interested in getting the Network+ cert eventually). It is unfortunate that there isn't a lifetime certification anymore, but the CE requirement doesn't sound too bad unless I am completely missing something (such has time consuming and hidden fees) The A+ cert is $75 for 3 years, the Network+ is $149 for 3 years, but from what I understand if I have the Network+ I will only be paying fees towards that.

What does everyone think?

Avatar image for deactivated-5acbb9993d0bd
deactivated-5acbb9993d0bd

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

#2 deactivated-5acbb9993d0bd
Member since 2012 • 12449 Posts

I'm in the same boat... just figured I would do it... even if its "Useless" to some opinionated internet-I.T managers .. they don't represent everyone. and you have to start somewhere.

No point in renewing imo... just get a higher one, until it becomes too difficult/consuming.

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#3 deactivated-601cef9eca9e5

@MBirdy88: