Almost done with my PC, just need to decide if im going with AMD or Intel

• 115 results

This topic is locked from further discussion.

jennycakes215

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1 jennycakes215
Member since 2011 • 45 Posts

I know intel has more potential but AMD has so much value. Also, I checked on PassMark and the AMD FX-8350 actually has a higher CPU mark than Intel's i5 and a ton of i7. Of course I am a PC noob so most of this stuff might not matter. Please feel free to explain everything like I am a child :P

soolkiki

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 3

#2 soolkiki
Member since 2008 • 1783 Posts

You can't go wrong with either. The general agreement around here is that AMD is good for gaming, but intel does it just a little bit better. The difference isn't all that huge, though. 

EDIT: Also, if you go intel, go for the i5. Hyperthreading is not needed for gaming and it's cheaper. If you want the rig now, get the 3570k, if you can wait, get the haswell (if I remember this name right) chip coming out this summer.  I can't make that many recommendations for AMD as I haven't done tons of research on them.

jennycakes215

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#3 jennycakes215

You can't go wrong with either. The general agreement around here is that AMD is good for gaming, but intel does it just a little bit better. The difference isn't all that huge, though. 

soolkiki
If I do choose AMD, should I go for the 4 core or the 8 core? My friend told me that 8 core aren't really used much but as i learned from my time building this thing, the internet knows more :D
soolkiki

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#4 soolkiki

[QUOTE="soolkiki"]

jennycakes215

If I do choose AMD, should I go for the 4 core or the 8 core? My friend told me that 8 core aren't really used much but as i learned from my time building this thing, the internet knows more :D