#1 Posted by IMAHAPYHIPPO (3346 posts) -

This was also posted on Reddit:

Hey all,

I'm currently downloading Windows 10 to run on a separate SSD, but I'm hoping for some advice on how to manage a PC that also has a HDD with Windows 7. A little backstory, I'm an audio engineer running Pro Tools 12.5 and had horrendous experiences with Windows 10, and Windows 10 auto-update features caused a myriad of issues with Pro Tools to the extent that I reverted to 7 for the sake of my sanity.

Thing is, I'm also a PC gamer and don't have the budget to purchase two separate PCs. I recently invested in an RTX card and discovered there's certain features that aren't supported on anything but Windows 10, a la ray-tracing and DX12. So, my goal is to try and run both OS's on two separate drives. I've never done this before, so I naturally have a few questions:

Numero uno: Is this a terrible idea? Will both HDD's be available on both builds of Windows and cause all kinds of problems?

Two: Is there any way to streamline this experience in BIOS? Is there a way to set up my BIOS so that I'm asked which operating system to boot at startup: Click on 7 when I want to do audio work and 10 when I want to game? Or will I have to enter the BIOS settings and manually boot each time?

Three: I'm guessing all drivers and such will have to be downloaded and installed on both builds of Windows, i.e.: if there's a driver update for my video card, I'll have to install that on both Windows 7 and Windows 10?

Cuatro: Seriously, is this, like, a really, really bad idea that's going to cause more problems than it solves?

Thanks for hearing me out.

#2 Edited by 04dcarraher (23147 posts) -