Tips on writing a movie review?

This topic is locked from further discussion.

Grodus5

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1 Grodus5
Member since 2006 • 7934 Posts

So here is the story. I signed up for my high school's newspaper this year, and got assigned to write the Halo: Reach review for the coming edition. When I turned in my rough draft, the editor in chief was completely shocked. Apparently I'm a pretty good writer. So she assigned me to take care of the review for The Social Network as well, which as a team we are all going to see sometime in the near future.

But here is the problem. I know video games, I've played lots of video games and have read countless reviews over the years. I don't know movies. I see maybe 3 or 4 movies in theaters a year, and they are usually big blockbuster titles I go to see with my friends. So right now I am frantically searching the internet for reviews for movies to see what movie reviews are supposed to look like.

So I have some questions for some of the more film oriented people out there. What should I be looking for in the movie? What should I talk about? Any tips would help greatly. Also, can you reccomend me some good movie reviewing sites that isn't Rotten Tomatoes (something like Gamespot for movies) that I can go poke around and get a feel for a good review? Thanks so much in advanced.

XXGamerfanXX

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 7

#2 XXGamerfanXX
Member since 2009 • 1066 Posts
I think the Review should be your opinion, and your opinion only, like "WOW! Check these awesome effects in the movie" type of thing, but be more specific in your review. Oh, and DON'T EVER COPY AND PASTE THE REVIEWS ON THE INTERNET, you will be in so much trouble if you do that.
Avatar image for deactivated-6127ced9bcba0
deactivated-6127ced9bcba0

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 1

#3 deactivated-6127ced9bcba0
Member since 2006 • 31700 Posts