Nokia Lumia 925 or 1020

This topic is locked from further discussion.

Darkljolly

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 2

User Lists: 5

#1  Edited By Darkljolly
Member since 2013 • 26 Posts

Since no one goes to the mobile section of the forums, might as well post this here

Should I buy a 925 or put down $90 more for a 1020? Is it all that worth it?

I tend to do a bit gaming and take a somewhat decent amount photographs with it, but I'm also studying photography so I have a professional camera.

Is $90 dollars more worth the difference?

1 GB ram to 2GB ram

8 MP Camera to 41 MP camera

16GB storage to 32 GB storage.

Thank you in advance :)

foxhound_fox

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 13

User Lists: 0

#2  Edited By foxhound_fox
Member since 2005 • 98532 Posts

The camera is outstanding on the 1020. It is worth whatever price you pay.

HOWEVER, this comes with a couple clarifying points.

1) You must be interested in using the Windows Phone OS. I cannot stress this enough. While it is intuitive (more so than either Android or iOS) it is feature-lite by comparison. The new 8.1 update is sure to bring some improvements, but it is very slim in terms of use, and if this is what you want for a phone, rather than a portable computer, then go for it. It's an excellent platform for ease-of-use and quick response times (I can send texts almost instantaneously when they come in).

2) The 1020's camera is a monster battery hog. Taking 40-50 pictures drains the battery by nearly 20%. You can easily empty the battery after about an hour or hour and a half of pictures/video. Have a charging method with you at all times, or a backup (the Nokia brand camera grip comes with an additional battery pack).

--