need helping navigating the blue screen of death...

This topic is locked from further discussion.

Avatar image for Virtuson
Virtuson

3509

Forum Posts

0

Wiki Points

0

Followers

Reviews: 14

User Lists: 0

#1 Virtuson
Member since 2004 • 3509 Posts
anywhich way i try to boot my computer i get a brief blue screen and my system shuts down and keeps trying. whenever i try to boot from my XP disc i get a message saying no harddrive is connected, though it obviously is because ive been using my computer just fine for the past year. any suggestions?
Avatar image for Mystery-
Mystery-

2144

Forum Posts

0

Wiki Points

0

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#2 Mystery-
Member since 2007 • 2144 Posts
Get a new XP disc?
Avatar image for Jaysonguy
Jaysonguy

39454

Forum Posts

0

Wiki Points

0

Followers

Reviews: 7

User Lists: 0

#3 Jaysonguy
Member since 2006 • 39454 Posts

Sounds like your hard drive is dead.

After the boot screen prompt what does it say for a drive in the BIOS?

Avatar image for rh06
rh06

473

Forum Posts

0

Wiki Points

0

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#4 rh06
Member since 2004 • 473 Posts
Try to run the XP disc and install the recovery console. Then once that is installed boot from that and try to recover from the BSOD.
Avatar image for Jaysonguy
Jaysonguy

39454

Forum Posts

0

Wiki Points

0

Followers

Reviews: 7

User Lists: 0

#5 Jaysonguy
Member since 2006 • 39454 Posts

Try to run the XP disc and install the recovery console. Then once that is installed boot from that and try to recover from the BSOD.
rh06

Did you read what he put?

He can't run the disk because there is no hard drive present (because it's probably toast)

Avatar image for CptJSparrow
CptJSparrow

10897

Forum Posts

0

Wiki Points

0

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#6 CptJSparrow
Member since 2007 • 10897 Posts
Your harddrive sounds dead; this happened to my sister when a ****load of viruses crashed her harddrive, and happened to me me when my harddrive accumulated damage from multiple crashes owing to electrical complications such as abrupt power outage. So get a new harddrive, ensure that it is well-protected from malicious software, and buy a battery backup and power surge combination system. The latter definitely is not cheap --- but neither are harddrives.
Avatar image for ferrari2001
ferrari2001

17772

Forum Posts

0

Wiki Points

0

Followers

Reviews: 9

User Lists: 0

#7 ferrari2001
Member since 2008 • 17772 Posts
hahah your harddrive is dead.. That sucks. Get a 750gig HD they are the cheapest in terms of $ per Gigabyte..
Avatar image for comp_atkins
comp_atkins

36002

Forum Posts

0

Wiki Points

0

Followers

Reviews: 3

User Lists: 0

#8 comp_atkins
Member since 2005 • 36002 Posts
try safe mode.. you may still be able to get into safe mode. then there's an option to disable reboot upon blue screen.. that will at least allow you to read the error that shows up without your machine rebooting quickly...
Avatar image for CptJSparrow
CptJSparrow

10897

Forum Posts

0

Wiki Points

0

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#9 CptJSparrow
Member since 2007 • 10897 Posts
hahah your harddrive is dead.. That sucks. Get a 750gig HD they are the cheapest in terms of $ per Gigabyte..ferrari2001
$119.99 Didn't see that one coming. :o
Avatar image for ferrari2001
ferrari2001

17772

Forum Posts

0

Wiki Points

0

Followers

Reviews: 9

User Lists: 0

#10 ferrari2001
Member since 2008 • 17772 Posts

[QUOTE="ferrari2001"]hahah your harddrive is dead.. That sucks. Get a 750gig HD they are the cheapest in terms of $ per Gigabyte..CptJSparrow
$119.99 Didn't see that one coming. :o

I wish I had the site I buy hard drives from usually, got it from a friend but recently forgot it. They are usually pretty cheap. And 750gigs are cheapest right now, if you put a dollar value on each gig. You pretty much need at least 500 gig so you might as well spend 20 extra dollars and get a 750.

Avatar image for ferrari2001
ferrari2001

17772

Forum Posts

0

Wiki Points

0

Followers

Reviews: 9

User Lists: 0

#11 ferrari2001
Member since 2008 • 17772 Posts

Heres one from newegg, it's a little expensive $109.. but it's a good HD

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16822136150

Avatar image for Virtuson
Virtuson

3509

Forum Posts

0

Wiki Points

0

Followers

Reviews: 14

User Lists: 0

#12 Virtuson
Member since 2004 • 3509 Posts
in the Bios it still sees the harddrive. i only just got it back from the RMA yesterday, jesus that pisses me off. (It's my Sager NP2090 btw) so yeah i'd need a laptop harddrive. unless there is some way i can make a clean swipe of my harddrive now and just start over with it? at the moment i'm looking at this harddrive here lhttp://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16822152111 looks pretty solid. no?
Avatar image for ferrari2001
ferrari2001

17772

Forum Posts

0

Wiki Points

0

Followers

Reviews: 9

User Lists: 0

#13 ferrari2001
Member since 2008 • 17772 Posts

in the Bios it still sees the harddrive. i only just got it back from the RMA yesterday, jesus that pisses me off. (It's my Sager NP2090 btw)Virtuson

even if it's in bios it can still be broken, it takes alot less work to detect it than it does to actually run. They could have shipped you it with a bad HD

Avatar image for comp_atkins
comp_atkins

36002

Forum Posts

0

Wiki Points

0

Followers

Reviews: 3

User Lists: 0

#14 comp_atkins
Member since 2005 • 36002 Posts

does it boot to safe mode?

Avatar image for Virtuson
Virtuson

3509

Forum Posts

0

Wiki Points

0

Followers

Reviews: 14

User Lists: 0

#15 Virtuson
Member since 2004 • 3509 Posts

does it boot to safe mode?

comp_atkins
no i get all the options if 'd like safe, w/ command prompt or newtork, most recent succesful settings, normaly. but any way i do boot it i just get the very quick blue screen and a shutdown.
Avatar image for krazykillaz
krazykillaz

21141

Forum Posts

0

Wiki Points

0

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#16 krazykillaz
Member since 2002 • 21141 Posts

Sounds like your hard drive is dead.

After the boot screen prompt what does it say for a drive in the BIOS?

Jaysonguy
Yeah I had the same problem a few months back. You can take it to a computer store and if you're lucky, they can pull the files you want to keep.