Game Design Do i need to know art?

This topic is locked from further discussion.

WiiNut6493

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 1

User Lists: 0

#1 WiiNut6493
Member since 2007 • 538 Posts
Is it possible to be a game designer without any art experience. i am trying to figure what collage i want to go to once i graduate. i am not good at art. infact i can only draw stick men. but i am great with computers. all my teachers have told me i have a imagination like no other. i can think up a story in a good couple of minutes. i was curious because i think it would be hard to try and explain the image of what your drawing in your brain to another person.
sAndroid17

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

#2 sAndroid17
Member since 2005 • 8715 Posts
its not possible without art, unless you do music etc
RiseAgainst12

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 2

#3 RiseAgainst12
Member since 2007 • 6767 Posts
You dont need drawing skills, there is other things you can do.
jack_michael

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#4 jack_michael
Member since 2007 • 1162 Posts
art is more than drawing y'know.
Boba_Fett_3710

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#5 Boba_Fett_3710
Member since 2005 • 8783 Posts
If you are a coder, you have to deal more with code than art. I on the other hand am interested in the art aspects of gaming more than any thing. When I graduate, I plan on getting into the game industry as an artist or designer.
AnObscureName

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#6 AnObscureName
Member since 2008 • 2069 Posts
Well a games designer is one of the people who think up the concept of the game, how it will play and such. Most people start off in a different position, coder or artist for example and work their way up. If your good at thinking up stories then possibly a writer? Unless you are better at the general idea of a story and not so good at actually putting it down.
markop2003

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#7 markop2003