jasean79

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1 jasean79
Member since 2005 • 2593 Posts

I'm just curious to see how you like working nights as opposed to days and if that throws off your schedule on days off and the time spent with family who work day shift.

Are there any pros to working night shift?

Avatar image for deactivated-598fc45371265
deactivated-598fc45371265

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 6

#2 deactivated-598fc45371265
Member since 2008 • 13247 Posts

They're hell.

Byshop

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 11

#3 Byshop  Moderator
Member since 2002 • 20504 Posts

@jasean79: I've never worked one, but I'm a corporate IT consultant and I set support organizations up for large corporations. TBH, the guys who are willing to work third shift are usually younger people who haven't started families. It really does alter your social life and third shift tends to have the highest attrition. The guys who work night shift also tend to be oddballs.

-Byshop

jasean79

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#4 jasean79

@Byshop: Judging from your reply, it doesn't sound like the shift for me. I can be odd at times, but I like my days to be my days and sleeping at night.

Does second shift fare any better?

Byshop

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 11

#5 Byshop  Moderator
Member since 2002 • 20504 Posts

@jasean79: It's really "to each is own" so I can't say if it'd be right for you or not. 2nd shift tends to be less disruptive on people's lifestyles as it's been my experience that people really have to shift their lives around working 3rd shift. TBH, none of the shifts in a 24-hour support org are particularly easy from a scheduling and lifestyle perspective, but jobs like that can be great entry points into working for big companies.

But if you work 3rd shift, you might end up working alongside some real weirdos.

-Byshop

JohnF111

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 12

#6 JohnF111