Do you talk on your cell when you're being helped by a cashier?

SOedipus

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1 SOedipus
Member since 2006 • 14801 Posts

Have you ever had a phone call so important that you had to answer it right before, or while, being helped by a cashier at Walmart or Target? How about while giving your order at the drive through at McDonalds? What do you think of people who do this?

I work in retail, in pharmacy, and I refuse to help people on their phones. I've walked away from people who answer their phones when I'm recommending something in the aisles. Honestly, my time is important too, I can't wait there while someone is having a full-blown conversation with their hand in my face telling me to wait. The world doesn't revolve around "you" darling. I love it when they get mad, when I walk away. There is a special place especially for people who are on their phone, on speaker, and having the phone right on their face. What is the point? Is it a form of narcissism, "hey, look at me, I'm important"? I'd prefer to have someone say, "I'm here to pick up my prescription, you fat ****, and make it snappy!"...rather than dealing with someone who is distracted on their phone. It's rude to me, and it's rude to the person on the phone who you're talking to.

One time I was with my ex at a department store. We were in line, next to be helped and my phone started ringing. I put it on silent, which it normally is, and she asked me if I was going to answer it. I told her no, I'll call them back. She gave me a look as if I were a freak. Perhaps I am. What are your thoughts?

nintendoboy16

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 43

User Lists: 14

#2 nintendoboy16
Member since 2007 • 41527 Posts

No! And I work retail, but since "customer is ALWAYS right", I have no choice but to serve scumbags like them.

RonaldReagan2

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 5

#3 RonaldReagan2
Member since 2020 • 28 Posts