Coworker scratched up my car at work...need advice.

KHAndAnime

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 1

User Lists: 0

#1 KHAndAnime
Member since 2009 • 17565 Posts

So I started training a new worker at my job and it was a smooth day. Where I work, it's just me and up to a couple of other people, so it's pretty much vital for me to be on good terms with my coworkers. This guy is into metal, drums with a death metal band that I listen to, and collects movies that I find interesting. So more or less, I figured we'd get along.

Well, things went smooth until the guy hit my car at the end of the day in the parking lot. He put three scrapes on the side of my car that are a little over a foot long. I wasn't sure at that moment if insurance would be the best route to take (and I'm still not sure), so I told him he could give me his insurance information over the phone later.

Basically I want the scrapes on my car fixed, but I want to do it in a way that's least painful for both my coworker and I. Would it be better to go get an estimate and ask for the cash up front? Or should I try to get his insurance information? I asked for his insurance info multiple times (just so I have it on hand) and he told me his dad has his insurance and said he'd get it for me later.... and he still hasn't gotten back to me with that information. I'm under the suspicion he doesn't have insurance. If he tells me that, I'm going to be less cool about the situation.