Anyone know what i did wrong in this code or how to fix it?

This topic is locked from further discussion.

Avatar image for Kyoogre
Kyoogre

172

Forum Posts

0

Wiki Points

0

Followers

Reviews: 1

User Lists: 0

#1 Kyoogre
Member since 2010 • 172 Posts

so im a noob at coding just started yesterday. I bought a visual basic 2010 guide book and i am working on my first example/practis program. I keep getting this error in my code before i go to try to test it out. 'picShowPicture' is not declared. It may be inaccessible due to its protection level'. i have no idead what or how to fix this so i hope someone on here does. Here is a screen shot of the coding and error message.

Avatar image for Kyoogre
Kyoogre

172

Forum Posts

0

Wiki Points

0

Followers

Reviews: 1

User Lists: 0

#2 Kyoogre
Member since 2010 • 172 Posts
Link to the picture http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.1886228729889.104020.1666542986#!/photo.php?fbid=1886228769890&set=a.1886228729889.104020.1666542986&type=1&theater
Avatar image for iloverikku11
iloverikku11

11039

Forum Posts

0

Wiki Points

0

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#4 iloverikku11
Member since 2005 • 11039 Posts

did you initiate the variable? I am not sure of the command in visualbasic, but in perl you have to use "my" to initiate any variable.

EX:

my $Picture;

Avatar image for xTheExploited
xTheExploited

12094

Forum Posts

0

Wiki Points

0

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#5 xTheExploited
Member since 2007 • 12094 Posts
it says i have to log in to that site to see the picture. i don't trust whatever site that is so i'm not going to sign up. do you think you could find another way to show the image?
Avatar image for deactivated-6016f3a1e8420
deactivated-6016f3a1e8420

112042

Forum Posts

0

Wiki Points

0

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#6 deactivated-6016f3a1e8420
Member since 2005 • 112042 Posts

TC, its asking for your username and password.

Avatar image for SoBaus
SoBaus

546

Forum Posts

0

Wiki Points

0

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#7 SoBaus
Member since 2011 • 546 Posts
first rule of asking for help with code... is actually posting the code. not to be rude buts its impossible unless you do.
Avatar image for Kyoogre
Kyoogre

172

Forum Posts

0

Wiki Points

0

Followers

Reviews: 1

User Lists: 0

#8 Kyoogre
Member since 2010 • 172 Posts

Yea i think initiate in VB is Declare but it doesnt say anything on it in the book yet, so im not sure how.

Avatar image for Kyoogre
Kyoogre

172

Forum Posts

0

Wiki Points

0

Followers

Reviews: 1

User Lists: 0

#9 Kyoogre
Member since 2010 • 172 Posts

http://www.flickr.com/photos/bigboistudios/5730243629/#/photos/bigboistudios/5730243629/lightbox/

Avatar image for Kyoogre
Kyoogre

172

Forum Posts

0

Wiki Points

0

Followers

Reviews: 1

User Lists: 0

#10 Kyoogre
Member since 2010 • 172 Posts
[QUOTE="SoBaus"]first rule of asking for help with code... is actually posting the code. not to be rude buts its impossible unless you do.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/bigboistudios/5730243629/#/photos/bigboistudios/5730243629/lightbox/ took a screen shot instead
Avatar image for Kyoogre
Kyoogre

172

Forum Posts

0

Wiki Points

0

Followers

Reviews: 1

User Lists: 0

#11 Kyoogre
Member since 2010 • 172 Posts
it says i have to log in to that site to see the picture. i don't trust whatever site that is so i'm not going to sign up. do you think you could find another way to show the image?xTheExploited
http://www.flickr.com/photos/bigboistudios/5730243629/#/photos/bigboistudios/5730243629/lightbox/
Avatar image for UltimoIce
UltimoIce

3074

Forum Posts

0

Wiki Points

0

Followers

Reviews: 3

User Lists: 0

#12 UltimoIce
Member since 2009 • 3074 Posts

[QUOTE="SoBaus"]first rule of asking for help with code... is actually posting the code. not to be rude buts its impossible unless you do.Kyoogre
http://www.flickr.com/photos/bigboistudios/5730243629/#/photos/bigboistudios/5730243629/lightbox/ took a screen shot instead

I think the error message is pretty self explanatory. You have an object that has not been created/declared that you are trying to reference. Place your picture box on your form first.

Avatar image for Kyoogre
Kyoogre

172

Forum Posts

0

Wiki Points

0

Followers

Reviews: 1

User Lists: 0

#13 Kyoogre
Member since 2010 • 172 Posts

[QUOTE="Kyoogre"][QUOTE="SoBaus"]first rule of asking for help with code... is actually posting the code. not to be rude buts its impossible unless you do.UltimoIce

http://www.flickr.com/photos/bigboistudios/5730243629/#/photos/bigboistudios/5730243629/lightbox/ took a screen shot instead

I think the error message is pretty self explanatory. You have an object that has not been created/declared that you are trying to reference. Place your picture box on your form first.

could you list here what i should put in to fix it, because i do have a picture box in my form
Avatar image for Kyoogre
Kyoogre

172

Forum Posts

0

Wiki Points

0

Followers

Reviews: 1

User Lists: 0

#14 Kyoogre
Member since 2010 • 172 Posts
[QUOTE="UltimoIce"]

[QUOTE="Kyoogre"] http://www.flickr.com/photos/bigboistudios/5730243629/#/photos/bigboistudios/5730243629/lightbox/ took a screen shot insteadKyoogre

I think the error message is pretty self explanatory. You have an object that has not been created/declared that you are trying to reference. Place your picture box on your form first.

could you list here what i should put in to fix it, because i do have a picture box in my form

Problem resolved.