Adobe going subscription only?

This topic is locked from further discussion.

0rbs

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1 0rbs
Member since 2007 • 1947 Posts

If you haven't heard, adobe who makes photoshop, premiere, illustrator etc is going to a subscription based model only.  As a professional i'm a little worried.  My church has me do some photography on the side for them for their site and I don't think they'll be able to recoup the costs.  

What do you think guys? 

P.S.  If this has been posted already I apologize in advance.

Avatar image for deactivated-5b78379493e12
deactivated-5b78379493e12

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 12

#2 deactivated-5b78379493e12
Member since 2005 • 15625 Posts

Link?

0rbs

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#3 0rbs

http://www.adobe.com/products/creativecloud.html

also the petition that's going around.

http://www.change.org/petitions/adobe-systems-incorporated-eliminate-the-mandatory-creative-cloud-subscription-model#supporters

CNETS article.

http://news.cnet.com/8301-1001_3-57582735-92/adobe-kills-creative-suite-goes-subscription-only/

jun_aka_pekto

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 1

#4 jun_aka_pekto
Member since 2010 • 25255 Posts

I can't blame Adobe. Their products are among the most pirated out there.

0rbs

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#5 0rbs

jun_aka_pekto

This doesn't hurt pirates, it just hurts the people actually paying for it.

BossPerson

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#6 BossPerson
Member since 2011 • 9177 Posts
Isn't Jesus aiiit with piracy?
bobbetybob

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 7

#7 bobbetybob
Member since 2005 • 19370 Posts
They should have both, I think the subscription is smart, I'd be much more likely to pay £15 a month than a one off payment of £700 or whatever it is for most of their stuff. But for companies and those that will be using it constantly the payment option is still better.
0rbs

Forum Posts