sheehanje

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 1

User Lists: 5

#1  Edited By sheehanje
Member since 2014 • 44 Posts

I really really really want to love my Nintendo Switch. I've owned almost every Nintendo console, including the much maligned Wii U (for a short time). The switch is versatile, has a great core game lineup, is powerful for a hybrid console/handheld. It's almost perfect.

Here is the one thing that Nintendo keeps getting wrong, and it's a carry over from the Wii U (and is what ultimately caused me to sell the thing after a month of owning it).

Digital Distribution. They still don't get it. I'm relatively new to the switch - I have 2 powerful PC Gaming rigs for my boys, a Xbox 360, a Wii, and Xbox One S. I was hesitant to buy the Switch, but I figured it would be a good birthday present for my 6 year old. I bought it a couple weeks ago and he loved it. I did too. We got a few of the cartridge games (Mario Kart 8, Super Mario Odyssey). I then logged in my Nintendo account, created a kids profile for him, and purchased Zelda and Minecraft (a staple for a 6 year olds creative juices).

I fell in love with Zelda so much that I decided to get a Switch console for myself. I figured I could just log in on the switch and play Zelda while he played his cartridges - and at worse he might not be able to play minecraft while in, but certainly Nintendo probably has a digital distribution platform comparable to Microsoft's Xbox Live. Nope.

I was pretty perturbed to find out I couldn't even download the game I purchased on the second switch, let alone play it. Now, if I had just bought the cartridge version of the game, this wouldn't be a problem - but not learning my lesson from my Wii U Experience, I just assumed Nintendo couldn't be boneheaded enough to not have a solution for households with more than one console.