Advance Wars- Days of Ruin vs Dual Strike for beginner

This topic is locked from further discussion.

greengloop

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1 greengloop
Member since 2004 • 285 Posts
I ahve just played a little bit of Advance Wars 2 Black Hole Rising on the GBa and found it hard too. So now my question is that lets say I can get my hands on either Dual Strike or Days of Ruin, which one do you think I should get as a beginner. Whats are the pros and cons of each game? Can I play online with Dual Strike? When playing online in either of the games, can I specify if I am a beginner or not and then I get to play with someone of my level rather than an insomniac 12 year old with no life (no offense intended to 12 year olds).
Seffora

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 22

#2 Seffora
Member since 2005 • 1972 Posts

It's kind of a catch-22 with Dual Strike Vs. Days of Ruin. While Dual Strike is a sequel, so you should play though the first two to get the most out of it, it's the easier of the DS Advance Wars. Meanwhile Days of Ruin is a whole new plot-line so you don't need to know anything about the older AW games to "get it" but it's the harder of the two.

Overall I would recomend Dual Strike to a beginner over Days of Ruin to beginners, but, as a vet, I still think Days of Ruin is the better game.

here are the pros and cons as I see them:

Dual Strike:

Pros: more to unlock, easier, more COs, *Dual Strikes, more light-hearted story/artwork, 200+ hours worth of things to do

Cons: easier :P, **Less balanced, some new modes don't fit in well (I'm looking at you Combat Mode), no online

*Dual Strikes are special moves you use that allows you to have two turns in a row thanks to the new tag-team system

**unfortunatly it hurts the game's balance making it more about the dual strikes and less about your actual combat strategy

Days of Ruin: