Mobile Game Rant

This topic is locked from further discussion.

shay4545

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1 shay4545
Member since 2015 • 7 Posts

Games in the mobile industry have become more "pay-to-play" than ever. I was playing a game the other day where you had energy which went down each time you played a level. Once I ran out of energy, I was prompted with a "Wait x amount of time or buy more now" popup. The quality of mobile games has dropped to the point to where we can't even play a game for more than 10 minutes straight due to these type of restrictions. Being a developer myself, I understand the point of using these tactics to either gain profit or make gameplay feel more special since you have to wait for it. But, I think these tactics are just plain dumb and I uninstall these games right away. Big-name developers rule the mobile app markets and continue to use these tactics to stay at the top. Forcing the user to wait extended periods of time to play a game is just unethical. Others most likely share this opinion, but unless more people begin to hold these views, the mobile game industry will soon be overrun by these greedy and low quality apps.

musicalmac

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 15

User Lists: 1

#2 musicalmac  Moderator
Member since 2006 • 25098 Posts

@shay4545: There are many pay to play games, you're right. There are also a whole boatload of games that are NOT pay to play, that are fantastic games. Some are ports, some are originals.

Fletchy

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#3 Fletchy
Member since 2015 • 12 Posts