The State of Open World Games, Your Thoughts?

• 63 results

This topic is locked from further discussion.

Avatar image for jasonredemption
jasonredemption

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 32

User Lists: 17

#1  Edited By jasonredemption
Member since 2010 • 691 Posts

DISCLAIMER: I love video games and I don't want to come across as one of these whining "what is happening to my favorite hobby" kinda of people. I am simply wanting to see how other people who love video games (that's why we're here, right?) feel about these things. I'll try to keep this short. (EDIT: or not)

Long-Boring History (Read at Your Own Risk) of My Love and Dislike of Different Sandbox-Open World Games:

I love open world-sandbox games. My favorites being third-person ones. I also love arcade racing ones and like first person ones. My question is why do some open world games feel great and others not so much? I've been gaming for about 20 years (didn't get into gaming until I was 7 or 8) so I know that I do not need a review or other people to know whether or not a game is good. While I have often agreed with reviewers, other times I have disagreed. I watch gameplay videos to see if a game looks like something I'll enjoy.

I never played a Grand Theft Auto game (the grand-daddy of open world video games). I did not enjoy the first Assassins Creed. But loved the second one. It is the first game I platinumed. Assassins Creed: Brotherhood was also amazing and I loved the one-big-open-world without the smaller areas all connected by fast travel points. I love Burnout Paradise. It remains one of my favorite open world racing games to this day.