This topic is locked from further discussion.

madrocketeer

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: -6

User Lists: 0

#1  Edited By madrocketeer
Member since 2005 • 10589 Posts

Random Number Generators. Most games have them now. Most games now bind at least some part of their core gameplay to them, and they can be temperamental beasts. Many have taken to calling them "Random Number God," or "RNGesus." I have just recently concluded an epic battle of wills with what I've come to call "RNGerk," one I'd like to share with you.

You see, a month ago, I started playing Warframe. Fun game. Kind of thing I could just relax with and enjoy for a few minutes everyday, and that was my intention - until I blindly stumbled upon three out of four pieces of a highly desirable item. This, unfortunately, set off my perfectionist lizard brain. I hate leaving anything 75% done, so I went into full berserk mode and embarked on a mad quest to find the last piece.

Now, imagine a loot box, but with a twist; instead of having you open it blindly and then rewarding you from a pool of hundreds of items, each of these "Relics," as they're called in Warframe, tells you up front that it's going to drop one of six possible items. It also tells you up front the odds of dropping these items, which are split into three rarities, with the rarest item, such as the very one I was after, having the base odds of 2%. But here's another twist: you can improve these odds by "refining" these Relics with a special resource, earned by playing a special type of mission called "Void Fissures," which are also where you open these Relics as well. Each Void Fissure drops 5 to 30 units of this resource, and refining a Relic with 100 of this resource improves the odds to 10%. Sounds simple enough, right?

Yeah, as you'll see later, this game has a funny definition of "10%."