Question about AI

This topic is locked from further discussion.

APic

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 4

User Lists: 0

#1 APic
Member since 2005 • 1640 Posts

Hi there. This is something that's been bugging me for a long time. Whenever you see developers and such talk about how the AI in their game is great, it always seems to come down to this: The enemies you face do indeed act really well, but your allies are horribly stupid. This is really noticeable if you decide to do something along the lines of a team death match, but every other player is a bot. The enemy will hunt you down and work well, but your team will sit in corners and shoot at walls. In games where allies can revive you, they will often ignore you and justy run by you, while if you watch your enemies they will indeed revive each other.

I'm no game developer, so I don't understand how the process works, but why is AI like this? Can't enemies and allies use the same AI?

lpjazzman220

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 10

#2 lpjazzman220
Member since 2008 • 2249 Posts

i think its so u cant hide in a corner and let ur teammates do all f the killin.....while i wish ur teammate were better.....on par with the enemys.....but i think that could make the game too easy......which is never a good thing

King9999

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 44

#3 King9999
Member since 2002 • 11837 Posts

i think its so u cant hide in a corner and let ur teammates do all f the killin.....while i wish ur teammate were better.....on par with the enemys.....but i think that could make the game too easy......which is never a good thing

lpjazzman220

I agree with this. It would probably be really easy for a developer to make some super-smart AI that does all the work for you, but then the game would be playing itself. On the other hand, you don't want to make the AI too stupid, otherwise they'll just hinder the player's progress.

Venom_Raptor

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers